We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pizza was the only good thing, just had to fight off the seagulls for it.”

Beachcomber Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The pizza was the only good thing, just had to fight off the seagulls for it.”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The pizza was great!! The one beer that is advertised practically all over the restaurant including a gigantic blow up can of it they did not have. The crab legs were over cooked. When the guy brought the pizza to us we had no room on the table because the cracked and eaten crab legs were still on our table he suggested we put the pizza on the table next to us. He wasn't smart enough to say "oh let me take the plate of shells away" duh! We asked for a container for our extra slices of pizza the waitress left to go get one, but came back a few minutes later to ask us what size container we wanted. We only had two slices left it should not have been that hard to just grab a box for our left over pizza. So while waiting again for the waitress to come back a seagull flew down and grabbed a slice. By that time we were so annoyed we left. The service was horribly slow and not to bright.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    28
    11
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Falling Waters, West Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Find a different restaurant”
Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

The food was horrible. The crab legs were cold and the tea terrible. The whole place was filthy and the music so loud, you couldn't hear the person next to you.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“OK food”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I just visited Seaside Heights for the day. The food was ok. Not anything to wow about. Service was great though!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
943 reviews
405 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 735 helpful votes
“This is Seaside!”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

I didn't grow up in NJ, so sometimes the obsession with the Shore escapes me, but there are things I like - aside from needing a 12-step program to break an addiction to skee-ball. The Beachcomber brings much of what I like about Seaside Heights together. We got clams, oysters and shrimp with beer at an outside table on the boardwalk. Not 5-star dining, but this is what Shore dining is really about - if you don't count pizza, subs, candy, etc.
Our visit was to get a Shore day, while helping out businesses/communities still recovering from Sandy and the 2012 fire - The boardwalk and businesses south of the Beachcomber are still eerily missing.
This wasn't our only dining spot on this visit, but I'm glad it was our first. My only tiny criticism is probably not the Beachcomber's fault. If you visit for lunch before the summer season officially kicks off, not everything is open. If you want food and alcohol, you have to go to separate food counter and bar, and not all the staff are experienced (We ran into a girl operating a game down the Boardwalk who had been in the US two days). No biggie.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap beer!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Tough to beat a $1.50 draft beer (pint)! Good place to escape the sun & heat. Bartenders were fine and there were plenty of stools available at the bar.

Visited May 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachcomber Bar & Grill also viewed

Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
 
Seaside Park, Jersey Shore
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing