We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the better hotels” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Motel
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the better hotels”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Definately one of the better hotels in Seaside Heights.....(there aren't too many)!!! Seaside Heights itself is wonderful,,been going there for many many years,,,little bit tough to find a nice hotel...Sunrise was clean..staff were very nice and friendly...I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    43
    21
    8
    30
See reviews for
128
44
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, NJ
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

For $179 for one night I definitely expected more than what felt like a tenement. There were hordes of people milling about outside their rooms and speaking very loudly in Spanish. Our neighbors a few doors down brought their boom box out and blasted Hispanic music into the late night; luckily the A/C drowned out the noise. The room itself was seriously basic: nothing in the kitchen but cabinets ... not even a coffee maker, utensils, or any dishes. Good thing the breakfast was free! The TV was probably at least 10 years old. This is what they call a "Deluxe Suite"? Thankfully the bed was comfortable and the room was clean (although very dated). We had to ask for our breakfast coupons in the morning as they didn't give them to us when we checked in. We were headed for Island Beach State Park so didn't need beach passes, but they didn't offer them either. (Maybe this is a ploy? Someone else wrote here that they had to complain to get their beach passes after 10 am). The parking lot was jammed with cars. Had to do some tricky maneuvers to fit into one of the last spots left.

The staff was very friendly, but for $179 I'll stay somewhere else next time. Prefer Island Beach to the mobs at Seaside anyway.

Room Tip: Would recommend a room on either end of the hotel and on 2nd or third floor to distance yourself fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Istrategist56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

We hadn't been to the Jersey Shore in years and wanted to check it out. Based on the reviews we decided to stay at the Sunrise Motel. It's a motel in Jersey so it's exactly what we expected. The staff was wonderful. You could see the staff cleaning rooms, the common area and pool area all day. The rooms were a nice size. We were able to check in early and use the pool and leave our car in their lot after check out. The 2 beach passes and breakfast were a nice savings. We had breakfast at Jimmy's which is less than a block away. The food was good and the portions were normal. Dinner at Klee's, which is almost directly across the street, was good and reasonable. The beach and boardwalk are a block and a half away. After walking the area for two days I don't think there is another motel that I would have considered staying in. This is the place to stay if you're going to Seaside Heights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I went to seaside heights for my birthday with my wife and children. We decided to stay at the sunrise motel. We checked in an hour early and the room hadn't been cleaned. 5 minutes later housekeeping came and cleaned our room! To make up for it they gave us firework tickets that you would usually have to pay for. Service was very nice and room was always clean. The only downside was that the bamboo nightclub is right across from it. Music was blaring until 3:30 a.m.! That was only 2 nights of our 6 day stay. The sunrise hotel is right near the beach and boardwalk. It is about a 6 minute walk. Did I mention free breakfast! They give you free breakfast coupons every day even on your last day! We bought hermit crabs on the boardwalk and the office agreed to keep them in their air conditioned office for no charge. The pool is very nice and cleaned daily. I highly recommend this motel to anyone who is staying in seaside!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hauppauge, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Family run with a personal touch. We were made to feel very welcome and all of our needs were accommodated. Great location, clean comfortable rooms & nice pool. One block to boardwalk. I like the way Sunrise is managed and would recommend it. We enjoyed our stay in Seaside Heights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I was staying in a room with 4 18 year old girls. A large security guard busted into the room with his gun drawn in the middle of the day, likely expecting the room to be empty. Even though one girl was standing naked in the room, he spent 5 minutes interrogating us before realizing we were doing nothing wrong and leaving. HE HAD A GUN. AN PLAIN CLOTHES SECURITY OFFICER BUSTED IN OUR ROOM WITH A GUN. DO NOT COME HER. We much prefered hershey motel where we went soon after.

Room Tip: Don't bother, you're better off staying in your car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonestown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

We just returned from visiting Seaside Heights. I recommend this place to anyone. Very accommodating. Beach passes and breakfast were greatly appreciated!! I will be coming back to Sunrise Motel, if I visit Seaside Heights again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Heights
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#11 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#8 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Windjammer Motor Inn
Windjammer Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Seaside Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hershey Motel
Hershey Motel
#4 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motel

Property: Sunrise Motel
Address: 202 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2506
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Seaside Heights
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunrise Motel in Seaside Heights is owned and operated by the Loundy family, who have been welcoming vacationers to the Jersey Shore since 1932. The motel features efficiency suites and luxury suites, accommodating couples and families up to 6 people per room! Our efficiency suites have 2 double beds, a sofa-bed or futon, and a kitchenette. Our luxury suites have 2 queen beds, a full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi tub, and living room with sofa-bed or futon. We are located less than a block from the boardwalk for easy access to the beach, rides, games, and amusements. Our property features a beautiful pool, expansive 150 foot sundeck, free WI-FI, free parking, BBQ grills, and cable TV in each room. All of our rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is permitted in all outdoor areas. During the summer season we also include 2 free badges with each room and free breakfast each morning at a choice of two local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Seaside Heights
Sunrise Motel Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing