We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Seaside Heights”
Review of Sunrise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sunrise Motel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Verona, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Seaside Heights”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have been coming to this motel for over 10 years. It is by far the best motel in Seaside Heights. It is clean, close to all the activities and has the nicest owners. I highly recommend it. Please remember this is the Jersey Shore, not a 5 star hotel in Paris, so you need to understand what you are measuring it against. If you and your family plan to spend some time in Seaside, then you can't find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marykate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    44
    21
    9
    30
See reviews for
131
45
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

I chose this hotel for a one night stay in Seaside Heights - we were arriving late from NYC, and planning to enjoy the beach the next day. All of this was said to the person I booked the room with on the phone, directly from the motel. I was told during that conversation that breakfast and beach passes are included in every stay for each guest.

On arrival, turns out that the beach pass isn't included once you check out (which is typically 10am)... so we weren't technically allowed to have beach passes. Luckily the person who checked us in gave us a late noon checkout, and the lady in the morning took pity on us and gave us a beach pass - but only until 2pm.

At least they let us park the car until we left, around 4pm. I've got to hand it to them for trying to accommodate us, but it would have been nice to know their policy ahead of time, since it's one of the reasons we chose this place!

It is more expensive than others in the same area... we paid around $160 all in, and others were around $100-$130. The benefit being the beach passes and free breakfast.

Free breakfast is one of four different restaurants we get to choose. We chose Jimmy's, and you got the equivalent of two eggs / home fries or three small french toast, but coffee / drinks weren't included.

The rooms are average. It's nice that they had kitchenettes, but the A/C was incredibly loud (we couldn't keep it on overnight).

It's not a bad place, and the people were nice, but it's a bit pricy for our kind of quick in-and-out stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank lespanman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lopatcong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I rolled into town without a room booked as a single mom with two 14 year old girls in tow and wanted an affordable, safe and clean place to stay.... I guess I didnt realize that this was asking for a lot. I was thrilled when I found the Sunrise. Ronnie and Kevin greeted us with smiles, beach badges, breakfast coupons and reassurances that our room would be clean.... the room was very clean, in fact the entire motel grounds were too. As I sat on the balcony waiting for the girls, Jen from the housekeeping staff walked by and told me she would be doing laundry if I needed anything at all and introduced herself... I gotta tell ya, I thought for sure I was on another planet. Night two was supposed to be at a hotel I booked elsewhere but I cancelled as all of us gals decided that there is no other place to stay in Seaside but here if you want an amazing experience. I needed a microwave in my room, Poof! There it was.... I asked for a few extra accomodations and they satisfied my every request because they could, and because they wanted to... Nice family motel, ask for a room on the balcony!

Room Tip: I was in 116... good location. Unless I want it then you'll have to choose another. Lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel was so clean and impressive, I couldn't even believe we were in Seaside Heights. My boyfriend and I stayed last weekend, the people were so nice, pool was incredibly clean, room was big, and location was the best! Across the street from Bamboo, so it was very convenient so walk across the street, lots of deli's and food places in the area. Boardwalk is right there.

Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JBonardi1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just got back from the Sunrise and it was a very pleasant experience! This is our third year going to Seaside and each time we stayed in different hotels, trying to find a good one, this is it! The staff is SO nice and accommodating, definitely a refreshing change to what we were used to from Seaside. The room was the perfect size, and very clean. They have tile floors which is so much better and cleaner than carpeting. Room service was great, they were always making sure we had enough of everything. I can't say enough good things about this place and we will definitely be back! Thank you Sunrise!

Room Tip: The bottom floor was a little noisy, not from the night club, but from the pool area and people pass...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetAngel03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I enjoy this hotel - went with my husband and two 13 year old girls. we had room with two double beds and pull out couch - kichenette. There was great maid service and plenty of towels. We were on the sundeck which the girls loved - stay out a night talk and watch the night club action. owners were on staff at all times. Short walk to beach and board walk. We never moved the car. I have no complaints with this hotel. i do enjoy it being couples and families only -

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mishy119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a non-smoking room and arrived at room 117 and smelled horrible, the room smelled like it was a regular smoking room. The bathroom smelled like pot, bugs on the wall and there were chips on the toilet and bath. Mold stains. Stains on the mattress, broken pull out bed. There was no phone or working lamp in the room. The front desk clerk directed us to the next room, that smelled like dead cats and damp water. The room smelled so bad that that the maids had to come up and spray febreeze, and left the bottle. However when we went to the boardwalk, they were smoking themselves.

Great location though! That beach and boardwalk are awesome! Nothing like the NJ shore! The beach and boardwalk were nicer than the motel itself. The pool was nice though!

Definitely stay at a different, cleaner motel. However, that's how most of the hotels are by that area, so we got OKAY luck.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Zach D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Heights
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
185 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#6 of 39 in Seaside Heights
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#4 of 39 in Seaside Heights
98 reviews
0.4 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#19 of 39 in Seaside Heights
327 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#9 of 39 in Seaside Heights
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Motel

Property: Sunrise Motel
Address: 202 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2506
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside Heights
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunrise Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sunrise Motel in Seaside Heights is owned and operated by the Loundy family, who have been welcoming vacationers to the Jersey Shore since 1932. The motel features efficiency suites and luxury suites, accommodating couples and families up to 6 people per room! Our efficiency suites have 2 double beds, a sofa-bed or futon, and a kitchenette. Our luxury suites have 2 queen beds, a full kitchen, bath with jacuzzi tub, and living room with sofa-bed or futon. We are located less than a block from the boardwalk for easy access to the beach, rides, games, and amusements. Our property features a beautiful pool, expansive 150 foot sundeck, free WI-FI, free parking, BBQ grills, and cable TV in each room. All of our rooms are non-smoking, but smoking is permitted in all outdoor areas. During the summer season we also include 2 free badges with each room and free breakfast each morning at a choice of two local restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunrise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Hotel Seaside Heights
Sunrise Motel Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing