We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best kept secret in Seaside!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Colony Motel
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Reviewed March 25, 2009

I have stayed at this motel for the past 2 years with my mom, niece and nephew, and I can't wait to book this Summer!! I found this place while reviewing motels on Trip Advisor 2 years ago because we had a problem with another motel that we usually stay at. (not being kept up, dirty, etc...) I have spent many a summer in the "Heights", and this motel was a good find!!! It's "charming", very clean, roomy, not too many rooms so you can't get lost, it's close to the boardwalk, (a little ways down from the rides, but that is great because the younger crowd gets a little rowdy at night!!) The CVS next door is always good for anything you need! The best part is that the owners, Sunny and Ron, really keep the motel at it's best. You do really feel like you are staying with "family", not just as visitors!! They are always there if you need anything!! Thanks to them for this motel, we will be spending our summers from now on at the Colony!!!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nayna419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 151 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2008

Me,my daughter and grandaughter stayed here and we loved it,it was very clean, i was so afraid of staying 3 nights somewhere and not liking the motel, i didnt want my 3 yr old grandaughter staying in a dirty place,but as soon as we entered our room,i said, Thank you Lord , cause it was very clean, and cute bedspreads and no musty smell,i hate that musty smell i can't sleep with that smell,but this room actually smelled fresh and clean, i was so HAPPY. I talked to many people on the boardwalk about there motels and most of them were not happy at all and i was so proud to tell them how nice the Colony was.
Sonny is such a nice lady,she always said hi and ask if we were enjoying ourselves and she was always busy doing something,helping with the wash, cleaning up the patio and talking to her guest,she was great!!!! And i asked her if it was ok if my niece and 2 kids came down for the day if they could change and freshen up after the beach in our room and she said yes, that was very nice of her. my niece liked the room too,she came down the week after with her husband and tried to get a room at the Colony but they were full and she stayed at a place they hated, it was dirty and smelled and they left 5:00 in the morning cause they couldn't sleep in a room like that.
So, I just want to thank Sonny for really taking care of her motel and making our stay at the shore a memorable great time.
But i do have 1 confession to make to Sonny, by accident i took one of your pillows,we took our pillows and i must have grabbed one of yours by mistake, SORRY!!!! I will be returning it very soon. Thank you and see you next year!!!!!!
Rita,Rachel and Kierra
Allentown, Pa.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Rita513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

My husband, 3 teenagers and myself stayed at the seaside colony and found Sunny and Ron wonderful and helpful. Unforturnately our car broke down and the weather was terrible. It rained everyday. However Sunny and Ron were great.
They told us where to go to fix our car. We had to cut our visit short because of the car problem and bad weather. But I would definitely recommend this motel. The rooms are clean and the pool is very nice (since it rained we only enjoyed the pool the first day we got there) It is away from the noise of the broadwalk. We are hoping to go again the end of this August.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Mom2BLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2008

We didn't reserve a room for our impromptu visit to Seaside just after the 4th of July and hoped that we'd find a vacancy because it was a weeknight. The first place we stopped had changed management since our last visit, and we didn't like the looks of the place, so we moved on. We stopped at the Colony next and never left! The room was very clean and fresh smelling (a rarity in an ocean-front resort) and the price was in line with others at this resort. Sunny was the most accomodating hostess I've even encountered; not only did she make sure our special needs were met, she went out of her way to ask about our stay and recommend dining options to insure we had a relaxing mini-vacation. We were visiting from California and had New Jersey relatives join us for one day at the boardwalk. When they arrived at the motel, Sunny greeted them and showed them where to park. She knew they were visiting us because we'd asked if they could park there for the day. She directed them to our room as though we'd been staying there for weeks and were old friends.

The flowers on the building and in the yard are a nice touch. And the linens were good - no scratchy towels! We extended our stay into the week-end because we were enjoying being at the Colony. This was the best visit to Seaside we've ever had!

In short, we were treated as guests, not just a paying visitors who'd be leaving soon and needed to be tolerated. Sunny will do her best to make sure your stay is enjoyable. If you are looking for a clean, safe, friendly place to stay, then the Colony is it!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CANJTenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2008

This is our second year staying at the Colony. Sunny and her family make your vacation feel like a home away from home. I would highly recommend this hotel due to the cleanliness, convienent location, convienent parking, beautiful--extremely clean-- pool. We always get two rooms and sunny somehow remembered what two rooms we stayed in last year and had them ready for us at check in, which made our stay even more perfect. All we can say is if you choose to stay in Seaside, you should choose to stay at the Colony. You will probably continue going back year after year like we will. It has become our family tradition.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank genie876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2007

Kitschy, clean, friendly and accomodating. * SPARKLY CLEAN! * Owner was lovely and made personal efforts to accomodate our needs. Really close to the boardwalk, but away from the "party" atmosphere - motel was nice and quiet. If you are looking for luxury accomodations, this is not for you. If you are looking for a wholesome, clean and affordable stay with vintage motel personality The Colony is an excellent choice. We'd go back in a heartbeat. Thanks for a great impromptu weekend!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank moonlightdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2007

The room inside looks OK. But it had an unpleasant smell. There was very little parking and it is in a bad area. The pool is small and across the motel. I would recommend staying at the Hershey Motel, or hotels/motels closer to the beach. Stay near the waterpark and restraunts.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank love_to_travel12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ColonyMotel, Manager at Seaside Colony Motel, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2007

Wow. You really didn’t like us at all it seems. You gave us nothing higher than a 3 in all of the ratings and are you really 13 – 17 years old? Well, young lady we are sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay (if you did stay with us). Did your parents or Boyfriend talk to Sunny concerning the room or property as we try to talk to all of our guests during their stay. We highly respect all of our guests and if a problem arises we are pro-active in finding a cure as quickly as possible. We cater to mostly families and our returning guest ratio is one of the highest in town.

We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our rooms, our property and our sparkling clean pool. All linen is cleaned on-site. If a towel, sheet or pillowcase is stained it will never go into a guest’s room again. Our daily maid service personnel are trained to tell management of any problems they observe with any type of issues. Especially odors. Since we are only within a block to the beach and boardwalk, sometimes you get an odor from the beach. There’s nothing we can do about that. All of our rooms are now Non-Smoking. When a quest checks out of our rooms, the doors and windows stay open until the next guest checks in. This freshens up the room.

Now concerning our parking. We have 20 rooms and 20 on-site parking spaces. It’s a little tight for sure but I don’t understand the, “very little parking” remark.

As for being in a bad area, we are in the safest part in town. We are located on the Ortley Beach line in the northernmost part of town. We are not in the noisy center and nowhere near the Night Clubs. It’s very,very quiet here. In fact the Motel you recommended is right around the corner from us. The Borough of Seaside Heights is only 17 short blocks wide. The water parks and restaurants are all with-in walking distance and the Boardwalk starts right up the street from us. I wonder what your concern was? I’m not exactly sure what you mean by being in a bad area.

As for the pool, it is 16’ X 32’. We would love for it to be bigger but that’s all we have. There are two pictures on our front page of our website that shows the pool. It’s perfect for a relaxing dip. But, come on. The beach is literally 200 yards away.

love to travel12345, We are truly saddened by your review but that means we will try to give our guests even better service next year. For everyone else that reads this reply, please go to our website (it’s easy to find) and see for yourselves. Read all the other reviews of our Motel here. We look forward to having you as our guests.

Regards,
Ron Bernknopf
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seaside Heights
0.5 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.9 mi away
Seaside Best Rentals
Seaside Best Rentals
#1 of 7 in Seaside Park
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#6 of 39 in Seaside Heights
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#8 of 39 in Seaside Heights
60 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#4 of 39 in Seaside Heights
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Colony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Colony Motel

Address: 65 Hiering Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1919
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Seaside Colony Hotel Seaside Heights
Seaside Colony Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing