We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean and close to boardwalk.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Colony Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Seaside Heights
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Colony Motel
Save
You added Seaside Colony Motel to your Saves list
Ranked #2 of 41 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Certificate of Excellence
Spring Brook Townhip,pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean and close to boardwalk.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This motel was very clean and owner was friendly.Colony motel was very affordable and close to the boardwalk.I can honestly say I will only stay here when I go to seaside.Thanks Soony for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    24
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
78
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mayberry
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

When my wife and I decided to come up from DC for the Labor Day weekend, friends recommended The Colony, and we're glad they did.

The place is spotless and cozy. The housekeeping staff are excellent. And it's all due to Sunny, the owner who is on site and who makes the place special.

Sunny takes great pride in her property, and interest in her guests. She is just one of those optimistic people who sees the good in everyone. A delightful woman.

We are headed back up to Seaside later this month to stay there again.

Room Tip: Sunny will assign a room that's best for you. Families with kids on the first floor. Other guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SotisMayberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

What a pleasant surprise.
With an Ocean property it's pretty typical that you will see mold somewhere - NOT HERE!!

It's just flat amazing that there is this much attention to detail of cleanliness.
Nothing in the shower, air conditioner - just clean.
The next morning I found out why.

The owner is on site and she is VERY hands-on to ensure her guests have a wonderful experience at her Motel.

She has taken what was a plain, basic Motel and turned it into a place you really look forward to stay at the Jersey Shore.

Sunny (the owner) has decided to add flower baskets along the front walkway and each room has two chairs out the front door.

The rooms have bight beachie colored comforters, plenty of room space and if I was pressed to find ANY negative - ok the TV needs a better speaker. Ouch!!

There is free coffee and tea at the office in the morning.
The pool is VERY clean (of course) and adequate size for the property. Free wi-fi too in the room.

The Colony is 1/2 block from the Boardwalk AND there is a 24 hour CVS across the street.

All in all, a treasure that I'm sure you will enjoy as well.
Just ask Sunny if something isn't right and she will jump to it.

Why can't all Motels be like this????
Good value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krat64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

After my son and his two friends stayed one night at a horribly disgusting motel in Seaside, I looked on tripadvisor for them and found the Colony. I called her up and assured her that they were responsible quiet 18 year olds that needed a clean place to stay. She treated the boys like family and when they got home they told me they loved it there. Clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. It is where we will stay when we go back to Seaside. Thanks Sunny!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Sunny the owner is always so welcoming & treats everyone like family.We arrive early in the morning without a reservation on a saturday & got a room right away & relaxed with free coffee before heading off to the beach with free beach badges that comes with the room.I also enjoyed the pool which was new & very clean.At night I enjoyed sitting out on the chairs and reading my nook with the free wifi.
If you are looking for a place to stay in seadside you must check out the colony...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rick n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This is a clean motel a half block from the boardwalk. It's quiet and across the street from a CVS. I saw many of the others that were offered online and I'm glad I picked this one. The owners are very helpful and the room was equiped with a fridge and microwave. The pool was small but clean. It's easy to go wrong in this neighborhood... stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breezy680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

I booked this trip literally last minute. I had a few days off and tried long beach island and was unsuccessful. This was meant to be because I said let me check out seaside heights, I never been here. To my delight this motel was great. The owners Ron and Sunny are so gracious and warm. Sunny is the best host, I felt like I was visiting a friend. The grounds and rooms are spotless. Sunny is running around all day with a smile on her face making sure everything is clean, and neat. The rooms had plenty of clean towels, a refrigerator, and t.v. what else can u ask for. In the morning she makes coffee, a nice touch. The beach is a block over in the quiet section, there is also a cvs across the street to buy your munchies, water, etc. The restaurants are in walking distance, I recommend hemmingways. They have happy hour 5-7 drinks and food at the bar. Very relaxing! Will be back. Thanks sunny xxo

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank romey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#23 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.6 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#11 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#10 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hershey Motel
Hershey Motel
#4 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#19 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Colony Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Colony Motel

Property: Seaside Colony Motel
Address: 65 Hiering Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1919
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Seaside Colony Hotel Seaside Heights
Seaside Colony Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing