We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Older hotel with minimal amenities” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Palace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sea Palace Inn
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Older hotel with minimal amenities”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed one Saturday night with 2 kids at end of June. I would have rated it lower except the staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel has a good location only 2 blocks to the beach with free parking which is hard to find at this beach. The room comes with beach tags which saves the expense of buying them each day on the beach. The hotel has a very small pool which was fine for a dip and big enough that the kids could splash around. The people at the office were very nice and accommodating. We arrived early and they were happy to give us a room since it had been cleaned. The room was a bare minimum, but had what was promised. There were only a bar of soap and a packet of shampoo and only 2 small towels. The beds are old and saggy, the tv only got a few chanels, there was no telephone (but who uses one anyway) and there was no remote to the tv. We were easily able to get more towels and a remote for the tv by asking the front desk. I am under the impression that this hotel is mainly used by teenagers and young, drinking adults and that they cater mainly to this crowd. The room was quite loud at night and thankfully we brought a loud fan with us that did the trick to block the noise. Again, the staff was kind enough to let us use the beach tags and keep our car in their lot after checkout by leaving our car keys as a deposit. A note for families with children - this is a late- night and not a morning town. It was hard to find anything open on the boardwalk at 10am and not much in the way of breakfast. In a town of few modern hotels, this place was adequate, but certainly not modern in any sense of the word. I do give them credit for doing their best to meet our needs. No need to avoid this place unless you can't deal with minimal accommodations.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD D, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are proud of our staff and service they provide to our guests. They are always helpful and willing to take extra mile to make the guests stay more comfortable. We will make sure adequate supplies are left in the room so the guests do not have to come to the front desk. We try not to cater to young kids and adults too much but we are not going to turn away guests on due to there age. We do not want to be suit for age discrimination. Each year we are making progress in updating the property. We should be done in updating the amenities and bathroom next year. You will enjoy our service and accommodation a lot more next year. If you decide to stay with us next year we will discount your rate.
Sincerely,
JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    15
    7
    5
    19
See reviews for
28
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Walking in the place looked great. But at a deeper look: remote didnt work, bed side lamp didnt work, tv was subpar. Then into the bathroom there was no tissue, not enough towels, no hamd towels, no washcloths. Into the shower there was hair, garbage, and the bathroom floor behind the door was unclean. Sorry to sound harsh, but being an ex housekeeper I know the short cuts. It was a nice place if it was cleaned properly. Had a great location and good curb appeal!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Michaela V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JD D, Public Relations Manager at Sea Palace Inn, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry for the issues you faced while you stay at Sea Palace. After reading your comments it does seem that housekeeper may have missed some parts. We have retrained our staff in cleaning and also made mandatory for front desk staff to check the rooms after each cleaning. We have also hired new housekeeping staff with better experience and cleaning. We hope you stay with us again to see the improvements. Our freshly painted pool is open and ready to be swim in.
We read each review and make changes to improve the service and quality.

Sincerely,
JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a great place to stay for location. The rooms were spacious. manager onsite 24/7. the pool was clean but a little small. the location was perfect. this was one of the nicer places to stay for your money. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jones71575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Close to the boardwalk, clean rooms, excellent service, free parking and wifi. The manager al is a great guy and will accomodate you in any way he can. Oh and there's a pool and rooms with jacuzzis if you are looking for a great time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ahmedabd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Greatest room you can buy in seaside hieghts No doubt!!!! Al is the absolute best! No better manager around! Cleanest place you can find! Jacuzzi room is the one to take on the block! Hot tub is the most genius idea to have in a room! You will have the most fun in jersey shore at this hotel, THE SEA PALACE INN!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ajk617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Manager Al was very nice and helped us very much get settled in and helped with checkout. Overall it was a great stay and I highly recommend staying here. Very close to boardwalk and located in a very nice side of seaside heights.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmoore70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The hotel room had no phone, so there was no one to complain to when we found out that the toilet wasn't working, just a plunger to fix it yourself. Now we know why the rug close to the bathroom was wet, probably from overflow of the broken toilet. This was not cheap, but a good lesson, look for a phone, and definitely do not revisit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pam v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seapalace, Owner at Sea Palace Inn, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi,

I am sorry there was an issue with the toilet. We try to make sure everything is in working order prior to guest entering the room. Sometime guest do keep flushing instead of telling management about the problem. We do not have phone in the rooms because often times when guests gets angry hey tend to break the phone and would not pay for damage property. As to save time and argument with guest we removed all the phones. Once we found out carpet was soiled we had carpet shampooed which may have not dried on time. We will take your comments and improve our service for our future guests.

Sincerely,
JD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.0 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#9 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#12 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
0.2 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#10 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#11 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Seaside Heights- Toms River
Motel 6 Seaside Heights- Toms Ri...
#17 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Palace Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Palace Inn

Property: Sea Palace Inn
Address: 136 Sumner Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2326
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Palace Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea Palace Inn located close to famous Seaside Heights beach and boardwalk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Palace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Palace Inn And Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing