We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We must return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hershey Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hershey Motel to your Saves list
Hershey Motel
1415 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Delanco, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“We must return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My man and I have been going the last 12 years and will not let Sandy stop us from returning,I hope all the people that have posted good revues in the past will do the same!!! I have checked with others in seaside and they say the boardwalk will be up and running by June.Our stay last Aug.was great the staff were as friendly and helpful as ever. I can't waIt to sit by the pool and have a drink. The Hershey is only a block from the beach and only a short walk ,or drive from the bay .The heated pool is the largest in seaside the game room ,next to the pool ,is fun the rooms are large for motel rooms all in all a great New Jersey vacation can't waIt to get back to the Hershey Sandy didn't stop them it will not stop us

Room Tip: Rooms in back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a family trip and booked like four rooms. The pros we all we on the same floor and same row and we had a pretty nice time here. The cons, the Futon was only big enough for one person and I wish they had elevators because we were on the third floor and there were a lot of stairs to haul all our bags up and down, not very convienent especially if you have anyone that's handicapp. But other than that we enjoyed ourselves

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had been planning a 5 day reunion at this hotel for months. We reserved 8 rooms. If you are not familiar with Seaside, pretty much all the motels are old and run down. We had reserved Fri and Sat nite because they can book up, but left the other nights open because we figured they would be empty. I had reserved my 5 nights in advance, because I thought it would be easier. I was quoted a price, given a reservation number, and I even asked for a total with tax. I gave them my credit card number. When I arrived, I was told that the room would be more than I was quoted. Because we had reserved 7 other rooms, I had to contact everyone in our group to let them know they were not honoring the prices they had quoted us over the phone. Other family memeber elected to make other arrangements for accomodations, or shorten their stay.
Also, some in our group had reserved 2 bedroom units. These rooms have 2 double beds in the same room, and another room with an old sofa and kitchen sink. If they had told us this on the phone, we would have made different arrangements. Some of the rooms smelled really bad, others were OK. Some of the rooms had queen beds, but double sheets which did not fit the mattresses. Also, some of the rooms (2 bedrooms) had no place to hang your clothes, but they did have 2 TVs. There are no hair dryers, hand towels, or even a box of tissues. There are also no phones in the rooms. Bath towels are really small and thin. There are no vouches for breakfast after Labor Day, but we decided to try the restaurant anyway. No one was impressed with the food. We did not expect much from this motel, but there is no excuse for not being truthful. Also, the fire alarms went off in the middle of the night, and there were fire trucks, police etc....not very quiet. Beds were made and towels were replaced everyday, but that was the extent of the cleaning. Hope I can warn someone else with this review.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vacation714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I went here after a horrible stay across the street! They were $5 more but certainly worth it! Plus free hot breakfast in the morning. Rooms were clean. Portable cribs were available. Pool, kiddie pool, sand box, & game room. The beds were comfortable and had a good stay. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sambas1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Beginning the week of 8/21, My wife & I and the in-laws, had 2 rooms on the first floor across from the game room. Initial impression was not good. When we went to our rooms loud music was playing in corner of the pool outside of our room, party at 1:30pm on Monday; I thought this might not be appreciated by my 90ish aged inlaws; however, they lowered it some when we moved in and it didn't continue during the rest of our time there. In fact, those playing the music became friends during our stay. We had a really good stay. Beds were comfortable. Outdated bathroom but not a big deal to us. Our rooms were in a perfect location for conversation with other vacationers as they passed on by. Large pool by Seaside standards with baby pool and sand box. No lifeguard. The outside bartender seemed to keep an eye on pool activities. Game room was appreciated by my wife(play til you win cranes) and many kids. A great place for families with children of any age. Free breakfast(choice between french toast, 2 eggs with homefires or 2 pancakes) was nice(no wait for the early risers between 8:00-9:00am). No free beach tags. Didn't use the bar or restaurant(except breakfast) but nice to have that as an option. Ladies at the desk were friendly. If you're looking for a quiet time in Seaside, the Hershey is not for you. If you want to be social, don't mind an occational ball coming towards you in the pool area OR have hiperactive kids who need activities to keep them occupied, the Hershey is for you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sfw_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
120 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed there during the week of July 22, 2012. The TV did not work. When I approached the owner/manager about this issue, he was rude and arrogant. He said that he did not know when the TV would be working again and if I was disatisfied, I should leave. Granted, we did not go on vacation to watch TV but we like to catch the latest shore weather and watch late night TV after all the day's activities. No phone in the room. There are no elevators so carrying luggage and beach stuff to the upper floor was tiring and annoying. Three long blocks to the beach. The motel restaurant food was terrible. There is no lifeguard at the pool so parents with young children should consider this. 1950's paneling on the walls and 1950's blonde furniture. The mattresses were in poor shape. Cleaning staff did not leave enough towels and would vacumn only upon request. There are no curtains/drapes on the windows, only blinds which do not cover the entire window. Consequently, passers-by could look into the room. The desk staff were also rude and arrogant following the lead of their owner/ manager. We left in mid-week. What ever happened to good ol' customer service. NEVER STAY AT THE HERSHEY MOTEL.

Room Tip: Never stay at the Hershey Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Good price, excellent food, rooms are just ok. The rugs are filthy, slippers are a must. The only thing between you and the mattress is 1 sheet, which I find GROSS !! Nice pool are. The entire staff was excellent except for this one jerk. Dont know his title , but he needs to learn how to speak like a human being.. For some unknown reason, our "silent" smoke alarm went off at 3:30 am. I awoke to a cop banging on my door. He asked if we were smoking in the room, he was very nice. Then this guy barges in and says "what are you doing in here that set off your alarm (very nasty) He looked around , didnt smell anything and left. No apology or anything. The police officer was very apologetic, it was obvious it was just a freak thing. We did nothing wrong, the fire dept had to check it out since they were called. And of course , they knew we didnt do anything to trigger this alarm. All apologized except for the guy who works for the hotel... he should've been the 1st to apologize, but he just stormed in and out. . I dont think I will ever stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn - Toms River / Seaside Heights
Days Inn - Toms River / Seaside ...
#17 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#5 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#6 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#12 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boardwalk Seaport Inn
Boardwalk Seaport Inn
#27 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Motel

Address: 1415 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 41 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hershey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Motel Seaside Heights
Hershey Hotel Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing