We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MOTEL FROM HELL”
Review of Hershey Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hershey Motel
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Yardville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“MOTEL FROM HELL”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed there during the week of July 22, 2012. The TV did not work. When I approached the owner/manager about this issue, he was rude and arrogant. He said that he did not know when the TV would be working again and if I was disatisfied, I should leave. Granted, we did not go on vacation to watch TV but we like to catch the latest shore weather and watch late night TV after all the day's activities. No phone in the room. There are no elevators so carrying luggage and beach stuff to the upper floor was tiring and annoying. Three long blocks to the beach. The motel restaurant food was terrible. There is no lifeguard at the pool so parents with young children should consider this. 1950's paneling on the walls and 1950's blonde furniture. The mattresses were in poor shape. Cleaning staff did not leave enough towels and would vacumn only upon request. There are no curtains/drapes on the windows, only blinds which do not cover the entire window. Consequently, passers-by could look into the room. The desk staff were also rude and arrogant following the lead of their owner/ manager. We left in mid-week. What ever happened to good ol' customer service. NEVER STAY AT THE HERSHEY MOTEL.

Room Tip: Never stay at the Hershey Motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    47
    20
    20
    38
See reviews for
66
25
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Good price, excellent food, rooms are just ok. The rugs are filthy, slippers are a must. The only thing between you and the mattress is 1 sheet, which I find GROSS !! Nice pool are. The entire staff was excellent except for this one jerk. Dont know his title , but he needs to learn how to speak like a human being.. For some unknown reason, our "silent" smoke alarm went off at 3:30 am. I awoke to a cop banging on my door. He asked if we were smoking in the room, he was very nice. Then this guy barges in and says "what are you doing in here that set off your alarm (very nasty) He looked around , didnt smell anything and left. No apology or anything. The police officer was very apologetic, it was obvious it was just a freak thing. We did nothing wrong, the fire dept had to check it out since they were called. And of course , they knew we didnt do anything to trigger this alarm. All apologized except for the guy who works for the hotel... he should've been the 1st to apologize, but he just stormed in and out. . I dont think I will ever stay there again

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mamatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Overall the place was nice. We didn't see any of the negatives in other reviews. Pretty clean for the most part. Housekeeping staff was attentive and we saw them everywhere. The problem with this place is the overall lack of attention paid to bad guests. The pool area is a free for all. Kids unattended and running rampant. Rafts, boogie boards, noodles, and balls being hurled around the pool, making it entirely unenjoyable for anyone to just take a relaxing dip. The only thing that will probably finally wake the sleeping staff up is when someone finally sure for negligence when they get hurt at the pool OT one of the MANY unaccompanied children drown. Couple that with the nightly quitter of weed we smelled coming from the balconies of the Apt section, RIGHT OVER THE OFFFICE...not so family friendly.
COULD be a gyrations place to stay if mgmt held people responsible. Liked the room. Liked the layout of the place. Liked the pool (well, if it actually date to go there.) But if the staff won't enforce rules or just common decency, I'll go somewhere else...without the nightly weed smoke.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LBomb369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was a GREAT motel! the only issue we had was when we arrived (at 3am travlling all night) the front office was closed and we couldn't find the clerk. Eventually we walked around and he checked us in quickly.

What was surprising was the breakfast. I mean we got a FULL MEAL and it was included in the price of our stay!! we could choose from french toast (big portion) eggs, hashbrowns and toast or pancakes. the juice/coffee were extra but a small price to pay - this is more than you get at a holiday inn!

the room was your typical double. we were on the third floor and facing the pool. sheets were clean, out of habit we brought our own to put on their sheets - doesnt hurt - and the bathrooms were surprisingly clean (based on the comments i expected worse) bath tub was clean, new tiles and toilet wasnt too bad either.

we did get an older tv, but we didnt really care, we were there to party!! :)

all in all, great location, not too loud at night considering its a party spot, pool was cleaned daily and the value was beyond what we could have asked for.

definitley will go back to Hershey Motel for the value and location.

don't listen to the bad comments. it seems as though one thing went wrong in their vacation and it was blown out of proportion from there - unnecessary to bash the entire place when you are displeased with one thing.

Room Tip: third floor and on the left or right of the pool (less walking)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Arts_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Hersey Motel was great! Right down the block from the boardwalk. Rooms are not the Hilton but they are nice. Great motel to go to with friends or family. The price for the room was good, they were upfront with the price. No hidden fees or last minute charges. Wish I could if stayed another day or could of took advantage of their late checkout. Late checkout price could of been better. Great motel, free breakfast, and drinks at the bar are good!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank yank2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Let me start by saying the reviews giving by negative visitors are all it is I went there and had the best time ever the rooms were clean beds were great bathroom was clean and had towels the maid service was very attentive. pool was very clean and the waitress gave great pool service our lunch and drinks were brought to us. the food at the restuarant was great and filling. I cant complain about anything everything was at walking distance. the staff always had a great attitude no matter what time of the day . I honestly have to say it was a great vacation the only complain i had was we had to leave. So go and enjoy cause im a big complainer i find fault in everything and anything and here I couldnt. and rest assure im not being paid to say good things. cant wait for next summer to go back. bronx NY 8/2012

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank carmen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This was our first visit ever to Seaside Heights to meet up with family from NY. This hotel came highly recommended by our family. They were just as disappointed. It started our first night with young kids drinking above us, a bottle was thrown through a window, police came. Second night the people above us (sisters) had a fight. They carried on until well after 3am in the morning. I asked the staff repeatedly if we could move. Their answer "no rooms". The room was filthy with ashes on the floor and splattered drinks on disgusting paneling. The staff told us they could not control the situations that occurred. They did not consider my family's safety. Whoever thinks this Motel is "tops" has not experienced real vacationing! The only good part was the breakfast which is owned by a separate propietor and the staff there was very nice.

Room Tip: Find another motel/hotel. There is nothing nice about these accomodations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#5 of 39 in Seaside Heights
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#6 of 39 in Seaside Heights
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#19 of 39 in Seaside Heights
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#18 of 39 in Seaside Heights
89 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#3 of 39 in Seaside Heights
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hershey Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hershey Motel

Property: Hershey Motel
Address: 1415 Boulevard, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1913
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hershey Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hershey Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hershey Motel Seaside Heights
Hershey Hotel Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing