We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient location but not the greatest motel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Sands Inn

Seaside Sands Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Seaside Sands Inn
Ranked #41 of 41 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
286 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Convenient location but not the greatest motel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

One of the cheapest motels in the area but definitely the price reflected the quality. We still ended up paying $93 per night + tax for a room with 2 double beds as we were 4 people.
The bathrooms were not very clean and the toilet did not work very well. The WIFI worked great and so did the TV.

The motel seems to be a hangout for highschool/college students as there were lots of groups of students at the motel. Boys whistling when returning from the beach which made it uncomfortable when using the outdoor shower to rinse off sand, as well as beer pong tables already set up outside some rooms.

The man at the reception, not sure if it's the owner or just staff, was VERY nice. He gave us extra towels and advice on where to eat/go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjaf_xo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    5
    3
    21
See reviews for
9
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

the managers were beyond lovely to me! however, you stay for what you pay. its a budget hotel so people that are expecting something more are being ridiculous. this was perfect for me. location was amazing, boardwalk was a minute away. the clubs were around the corner, couldnt fault the location at all. would def stay back here if i do come back to seaside in the future. the only thing i did hate was the walls are so thin, i heard the people next to me having a fight.. other than that, was great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank georgie874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

nasty motel no parking bed bugs or something got bit by something, when walked in room found dirty sock under bed, and covers looked like blood stains, poeple that live here walk around and hangout all hours a little scary, people that worked there were nice upon checkin and thats it, i dont wish that place on anyone, waste of money i left room didnt even stay but paid....gross bed bugs dirty no parking stainded sheets, bad enviroment and no idea about customer service...reall people dont make my mistake read reviews before booking in seaside....this place was a dump and over priced for it...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank njlocalnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Toms River, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

2 words everyone- BED BUGS. The parking lot is a joke. You have to give your keys to management 4 your stay-not allowed to use your car for your stay. Management are VERY nice- Joe and Bunny. I feel bad they have to work for such a nasty and CHEAP boss. OVERPRICED for your accomodations. NOT a place for families with children. I would NEVER go back there. You do NOT WANT` to come here unless you want to get bit by something your whole stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tanya263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

This place is a DUMP! The rooms are disgusting and upon arrival they looked they were never cleaned from the previous guest. Staff is so rude and actually came into our room to scream at us when we asked for extra towels. I even got bit by something while sitting on the unwashed comforter (bed bugs?). Oh and they have an outdoor shower where they would like you to wash after the beach which is good and fine exept the fact that they have two cameras facing into the shower. GROSS! Oh and the parking, be ready to give the owner your car keys for the entire weekend so that the can move your car throughout seaside parking lots as he pleases. Do not stay here there are so many other hotels for the same price!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank desiree039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
union city, nj
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Had a wonderful weekend, the three teens spend the entire time walking around the place. The motel is close to everything, one block from boardwald. The Hemingway and Karma are just around the corner. Perfect for parking your car and getting around. The Managers/Owners were very friendly and did everything possible to accomodate us. We felt extremely safe being that there was an off duty officer looking out for everyone in the place. The rooms were just perfect for the occassion and the managers made sure we were well taken care of. It seems to be under new owners and they have replaced some of the items in the rooms in order to keep everything more current. Looking forward to going back with the little ones.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lol27s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

Most of the motels in seaside don't allow visitors unless they have a rist band, but the people at this motel were atleast nice enough to let them come over real quick or something. You couldn't be caught with a visitor at any other motel or you were basically kicked out. Not to mention the owners of the motel were amazing and so friendly. One of them gave me a water every single night when I was thirsty, it was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heaatherbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#11 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 28 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coral Sands Motel
Coral Sands Motel
#24 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel 6 Seaside Heights- Toms River
Motel 6 Seaside Heights- Toms Ri...
#14 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 stars 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Palace Inn
Sea Palace Inn
#25 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boardwalk Seaport Inn
Boardwalk Seaport Inn
#21 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaside Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Sands Inn

Property: Seaside Sands Inn
Address: 61 Sumner Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2117 (Formerly Gangplank)
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 41 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seaside Sands Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO SEASIDE SANDS INN!!!Come and stay with us at the Seaside Sands Inn, Seaside Heights, New Jersey! We are a family owned and operated property and offer newly renovated deluxe rooms. The Seaside Sands Inn is located right in the heart of Seaside Heights and is a half block from the beach and the boardwalk, and one block from restaurants, shops, and amusement park. Our spacious inn offers clean, quiet rooms that allow you to escape after an exciting day! We want your vacation stay to be as enjoyable as possible no matter if you stay for a day, a week, or longer. Check into the Seaside Sands Inn – you’ll be glad you did.THANK YOU!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Seaside Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Sands Hotel Seaside Heights
Seaside Sands Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing