We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Franklin Terrace Motel
Ranked #3 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed October 19, 2009

We were unable to go anywhere because our car was placed in a puzzle-like parking lot. To get out at check-out we had to knock on others' doors to get them to move their cars. We were in the room by the office and had to listen to the phone ring all day and night. It was truly a unique experience and not in a good way.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janda1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry that our motel was not sufficient in regards to what you were looking for in a motel.

Please accept my sincerest apologies that your experience was less than satisfactory. It is disappointing to learn that you feel we fell short of our goals in this instance. I appreciate you taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your concerns.

We do have sufficient space for one car per room and also parking off street available for guest too. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Please know that we value you as our guest and would like all our guests to see us at our very best to this end. I hope the next time you travel to Seaside Heights, you will be able to give us another opportunity to prove you can get a great nights rest at Franklin Terrace Motel.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    23
    14
    6
    11
See reviews for
36
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

the room we stayed in was small and barely decorated, there was a pole right in the middle of the room and the beds were awkwardly placed. it was fairly clean, and the bathroom was a step up from the main room. some of the staff was courteous, but the manager was standoffish. the parking is also extremely tight. once you get drunk the room doesnt bother you as much but when you first walk in it's definitely a shocker. if you stay here demand to have a middle room. ive stayed at the belmont and the bay breeze in seaside and they both trumped this one by far.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank immelikethat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Franklin Terrace Motel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. We do have rooms with full bath, and we did upgrade some of our rooms with Flat screen television and freshly coated paint in all of our rooms. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate you sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed August 2, 2008

The motel was not quite what we expected. The room was very small with a large poll in the middle. In addition there was not a phone or a clock in the room. So if you go there bring your own. The parking situation was not very easy either, the spots were tight and they were not easily accessable. When we wanted to go into the pool it was impossible unless there were no other people in the pool. The bathroom/shower was a whole experience in itself. The shower took about 15 mins to "warm" up before warm water came out, with horrible water pressure. "Housekeeping" came way too early in the morning and if you tell them you need more time, they get snotty with you.

All in all I would not recommend this motel. The package price, was not worth the stay.

  • Liked — The closeness to the beach (about 1/2 a block away).
  • Disliked — The lack of space in the motel room and on the motel property.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank starsatnight13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Franklin Terrace Motel. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

You should have let us know regarding your room issue and we would have gladly solve your problem. We do have sufficient space for one car per room and also parking off street available for guest too. We do have rooms with full bath, and we did upgrade some of our rooms with Flat screen television and freshly coated paint in all of our rooms. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Clean Comfortable rooms. Nice pool, and ammenities. Good value for people traveling with children.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank a_mora40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

It's always a pleasure to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us, and I will share your comments with our team.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bhavikab4u
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2008

Me and my friend went there for the Memorial Day weekend, we booked the room few months ago and we all are very excited about our teip to Seaside. We loved the loction of the motel, it's few minutes walk to Boardwalk and very convenient to all the night clubs. We loved the Staff they were really helpfull. Secure and nice place to stay, all the time we were there I was never worried about my stuff or anything, they also gave us a room service and that was nice for the beach motel, but you have to ask for the room service. Also there were young kids from prom who try to destroy the place and management called the police on them and they have to pay for the room damage, don't know why people try to destroy other people property. Overall we loved our stay and will plan to go back to Franklin Terrace again.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bhavikab4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, We are glad that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our convenient location near many Jersey Shore hot spots. We strive to bring clean affordable accommodation to each and every one of our guests. .

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
Reviewed June 1, 2008

Nice motel. The location was excellent and the room was more than expected for the price. The king size bed was excellent, better than most ive seen even at the major hotel chains. The service was also very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank johnj007123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Franklin Terrace Motel. Thank you again for this excellent review of your recent stay with us! We are thrilled you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our convenient location near many Jersey Shore hot spots. We strive to bring clean affordable accommodation to each and every one of our guests. We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,
Frank.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Well from online it looks great. It is so tiny in person, probably the smallest hotel in town. The pool was cold and small and locked up almost all day. The management was rude and condescending. One man actually peaked in through a window into my friends room! What if we had been changing? Also, they are on premises 24/7 and will bother you 24/7. One manager said we could have guests untiil 6pm another screamed at us for having them and when we explained his son had told us we were allowed he seemed to get angrier. The stoves don't work. They kept changing the prices of our wristbands (we were the only hotel that had to pay for replacements) which you need to be allowed on the property, and they had the cops called on them for ripping off customers while we were there. Also my room was above their kitchen and the stench would fill my room. I had to leave the windows and doors to my room open and used an entire bottle of febreeze and lysol. Terrible terrible place. Stay at the Glendale instead. I was there all weekend with my friends because mine hotel sucked so bad... and its cheaper there too.

  • Liked — leaving
  • Disliked — the terrible smell and attitudes
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dweiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank_TM, Manager at Franklin Terrace Motel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

We are sorry for the troubles you faced while staying with us. If you had a problem with the room smell we would have gladly changed your room given the opportunity to do so. We are available 24/7 for all our guests for anything they need. We do not provide room with stove, and don't charge guest for efficiency, so there should not be any problem if the stove in the room is not working.

To all our future guests please don't be discouraged by this negative review. We are here to provide safe, clean and memorable stay for all our guests. We have many repeat guests who have enjoyed our services and have returned year after year.

Sincerely,
Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.2 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#5 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#4 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Motel
#6 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anchor Motel
Anchor Motel
#11 of 39 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#14 of 39 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franklin Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franklin Terrace Motel

Property: Franklin Terrace Motel
Address: 50 Franklin Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2528
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Seaside Heights
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Franklin Terrace Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are just a short walking distance to all of the fine amusements, attractions and the wonderful Seaside Heights Beach and Boardwalk! At the Franklin Terrace Motel, we offer a friendly, clean family hotel where the Management is on-site to ensure that your stay is the most enjoyable it can be. The Franklin Terrace Motel.... a peaceful, fun place to vacation...spend a night, a weekend, a month or all season...you will remember our hospitality. With a lovely lobby and private pool, the Franklin Terrace is the best value on the Jersey Shore ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Franklin Terrace Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franklin Terrace Hotel Seaside Heights
Franklin Terrace Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing