We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
GreenLeadersBronze level
A TripAdvisor Member
“Needs improvement”
Reviewed September 6, 2004

After I made reservations two days before the
vacation, unexpectedly I saw the negative comments posted about this inn.
Because of the cancellation requiring one week advance notice and some positive reviews
rating the inn 5 stars, I did not try to cancel the
reservations.
Well, I should have listened to the negative reviews. The photos of the inn posted on the web were so deceptive just like the one who rated the inn as excellent. The rent is not cheap, so "Don't do it!" as the reviewer from Wallkill said, or you will end up like me posting the nightmare here.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    72
    81
    71
    88
See reviews for
169
88
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 31, 2004

I made reservations to this hotel because from the website the pool looked nice and big, and the rooms looked pretty spacious. First of all, the pool is very very small. And the rooms are no better. The parking lot is also very cramped. It is an old inn. The only positive thing about my experience there was the complimentary breakfast. Still, they need to make many renovations to their facilites to be able to compete with other neighboring hotels. In conclusion, you can definitely find a better hotel with better facilities at a better rate!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 18, 2004

I don't really understand how someone could rate this place as excellent. It is very old and could use renovations. I picked this place above some of the cheaper places because I thought it would be better- not the case. The bathroom in our room had not been renovated since the 1970s, the beds were uncomfortable, and the pool was too small. The worst part of all was that when we had to leave a day early because my husband was unexpectedly called to work, they refused to give us our money back, claiming they could only give us a gift certificate. How cheap can you be?

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 1, 2004

we decided to stop half way home from washington dc and i picked the cranbury inn on the advice of the reviews of trip advisor. i should have listened to the negotive one. all one has to do is open the door to a foul, musty odor. i cleaned the filter on the air conditioner (as i thought maybe that was the problem), however, i tried to find where the outside of the a/c was, and could not. it was enclosed. thank goodness we had a scented candle. after a wonderful trip to washington dc, this was disgusting. i have never stayed in a place so filthy. my bare feet never touched the carpet. a deluxe poolside room, what a joke, we couldn't even fit a roll a way in this room. the only redeeming factor was the beach. if i could have pitched a tent there i would have for it was alot cleaner. the town is run down and full of drunks and punks. go to point pleasant-we went there a few years ago and should have gone back, none of the riff raff. this was unanamously the worst place i have ever stayed.as a side, our friends stayed at the mark III, and it was a pit too, same smell, same filth, and the pool the size of a bath tub!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 28, 2004

I really enjoyed the cranbury inn. There are many good things about it such cable tv, air conditioning that actually works, bathrooms that aren't dirty, and great breakfast food. The pool is a little small, but some of the other places don't have any pool at all, so I'd rather a small pool, than no pool. the cranbury inn is a great place to stay, and it has reasonable prices too. If you are going to seaside heights this summer you should definetly go to the cranbury inn!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 19, 2004

After spending one night in this hotel, we wanted to take a shower. The water was cold. The electric in the Bathroom went out when we used the hairdryer. These were not cheap rooms, so why did we have such a problem? I called the office and they said we would have to let the water run a little while and they would fix the breaker for the electric. Not a very good experience.

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 18, 2004

Staff was courteous but this is basically an "old shore" motel with all the musty smell and dingy motel motif. Much nicer motels accomodations in Point Pleasant.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.5 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / ...
#21 of 39 in Seaside Heights
65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#18 of 39 in Seaside Heights
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Seaside Heights/toms River
Travelodge Seaside Heights/toms ...
#24 of 39 in Seaside Heights
12 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#4 of 39 in Seaside Heights
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#17 of 39 in Seaside Heights
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River

Property: Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Address: 201 Hiering Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1703
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Seaside Heights
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Days Inn Jersey Shore Hotel, of Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and inviting lobby, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Free breakfast, Free wi-fi, and Wyndham rewards points are all included in the price of your room! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranbury Hotel Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing