We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Beach House Rentals
Nearby Hotels
Franklin Terrace Motel(Seaside Heights)(Great Value!)
$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Motel(Seaside Heights)
$124
$110
Groupon.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sea Palace Inn(Seaside Heights)
$119
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buoy 16 Motel(Seaside Heights)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anchor Motel(Seaside Heights)
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Breeze Motel(Seaside Heights)(Great Value!)
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Villa Suites Hotel(Seaside Heights)
$125
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunrise Motel(Seaside Heights)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mark III Motel(Seaside Heights)
$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Sunset Motel(Seaside Heights)
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
21
14
13
7
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
14
13
7
24
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 79 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

It was really nice vacation in the hotel. Everything was amazing the staff , the room & amazing view. Its near everything. I stayed at single room. it was really nice. Nice restaurant &Very Delicoius food.

Room Tip: Rooms at south side.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Beach House Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Our hardworking staff are very glad you enjoyed your stay. We will continue our efforts of great service, in part to your kind words! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

for a beach front motel it was great. the beach is right there. parking was always available. the manager was on site as were the motel owners. they were extremely friendly and answered all our questions. we stayed in a double bed room on the 3rd floor. wish there was an elevator (lol). this is our motel at seaside. located near everything!
thank you boardwalk seaport.
the gencarelli family

Room Tip: if you have alot of luggage or just outta shape ask for a 1st or 2nd floor room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gencarelli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Beach House Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear the gencarelli family,

We are your hotel at the shore! Thank you so much for your kind words. We hope to continue our great service and help you enjoy with your family! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We did not get what we thought we paid for. I feel we were misled in the booking process. When I called to book a room with one double bed for $99 a night (as advertised on their website) they said they only had rooms with two beds left for the dates we wanted to stay and it was going to be $129 a night. Since the location seemed nice we decided to go ahead and book the room with two beds for more money and just enjoy the extra space. When we arrived at the hotel we checked in ( at which time they didn't even ask for ID of any sort) and we went to our room which was only a single room with one double bed......which was only supposed to be $99 a night and they said would have been unavailable. We went back down to the check in desk to see if we could just be reimbursed the $30 a night since we were told we were going to have a larger room. The man at the check in counter told us we had actually been "up-graded" and the room was actually supposed to be way more expensive and that we were being given a "deal", because it had a "view" of the Jersey Shore tanning deck. When I tried to explain what I had been told over the phone (about the single rooms being booked and having to book the more expensive room) they just kept insisting we had been upgraded. They offered to move us to another hotel for $99 a night but it was further away from the beach and you had to pay for parking. Parking was a whole other nightmare. The parking has 9 spots, VERY SMALL spots, and 3 of them require parallel parking. We found out you usually at most times completely blocked in because of the amount of cars trying to fir in the TINY lot. Hope you don't have to go anywhere fast...... We were told check out was at 10 AM, (but I'm pretty sure it depended on who you asked) and we packed up the car and went to the office at 9:30 to check out and no one was there. Absolutely no one, door was locked. We called but got no answer so we ended up leaving the keys in the room and just leaving a voice mail, and getting out of there as fast as possible. The room was okay at best, right on the boardwalk and well lit at night. But there are plenty of other places to stay on the boardwalk, don't waste your money here.

Room Tip: Don't get automatically upgraded at your own cost.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TMMUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Beach House Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

It seems that you did enjoy our clean, comfortable rooms with the amazing location of our hotel. We understand you had some issues with booking. We will investigate the confusion and earn a better rating on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I just went over this weekend (8/17-8/19/12) and I think that beacuse I read other reviews my expectations were really low. The motel is not horrible, I've slept in harder beds and the room was clean. We stayed in a one bedroom suite on the first floor so luckliy I didn't have to haul my stuff up the stairs. We were right under the stairs so at times it did sound like people were going to invade the room but maybe because I'm from the city those sounds don't abslutely bug me. The room and bathroom were clean and had no problem there. The TV had no remote which was no biggie as most of the time I was out of the room. The hotel has a great location on the boardwalk which made it super convienent as parking can be a pain there. All in all the location was really good, the room was decent and it was good for a weekend trip with friends. I didn't directly deal with the front office staff but the person who did - did not complain about them.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xgarcia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Beach House Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. We will earn a better rating on you next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I want to start by saying I wasn't expecting the Ritz Carlton or the 4 Seasons. This is a solid beach motel, in a great location, right on the boardwalk. Our room was clean, serviced each day we were there, and Ziko, the manager, deserves every phenomenal review he has been given. He is constantly on-site, and truly embodies "service with a smile". He loves his job and it shows. He is knowledgeable about the area, and was helpful about finding another friend a room at the last minute when she showed up on Saturday night, after the power blew in Atlantic City & she needed a place to stay with her kids.

Security was also good in the evening at the motel, which made us feel comfortable, with some of the "randoms" that may have been wandering the area late night around the MTV "Jersey Shore House" (even though we felt good about their extra security too).

Overall, if you're going to spend a weekend at the beach, this is a great, clean, central location to stay. If you're going because you're planning to "Jersey Turnpike" with Pauly D, The Situation, Snookie, Dina & the MTV crew, you might be out of luck -- I think this past weekend was their last weekend of filming for the summer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sunworshiprskibum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CranburyInn, Public Relations Manager at Boardwalk Hotel Charlee & Beach House Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2012

Dear Satisfied Guest,

Thank you very much for writing a review for our property. Our team works tirelessly (as you saw with just one member) to make sure our hotel guests really enjoy their stay. We do keep security to make sure our guests have peace of mind and relaxed to recover energy for another day at the Jersey Shore. We want to thank you for visiting and hope to see you again!

Best Regards,
Your staff at the Boardwalk Seaport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews