We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Don't stay here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Breeze Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bay Breeze Motel
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Seaside Heights
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't stay here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

The quality of this hotel is awful, but the worst part was the customer service by the manager himself. He has the most absurdly strict rules. After spending all day on the beach, a group of friends and myself came back to the motel for showers before heading back out for the night. Six of us were paid guest at the motel, but two of our friends were staying at a different hotel. Upon arriving back at the motel, the manager informed us that our two friends, not staying here, had 5 minutes to leave the property before he would call the cops. We wouldn't even let them wait on the property while we just took showers and got ready. An hour tops. He ended up calling the cops on us and only told them it was ok after our two friends paid him an additional $35 each for "extra occupancy" in our rooms. Even if you think you could stay here without having to work outside his stupid rules, I wouldn't. The rooms are small, and the quality is terrible. It's even worse when you factor in the price and it's still a 15 minute walk to the beach. I paid less for a room in downtown D.C. at the Hilton. Don't stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jml4384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaybreezeNJ, Manager at Bay Breeze Motel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
We do take all review seriously and take necessary action to improve. We provide clean, well-appointed deluxe rooms with comfortable modern facilities to our guests.
As per our motel policy, only registered guests are allowed to stay, and no visitors are allowed, which we have made aware to you during the registration process. This policy is posted in our registration office and registration form where guests are asked to sign. In your case, the guest has tried to bring unregistered people in their room numerous times, despite our request not to bring any unregistered guest in our property for other guest's safety and enjoyable stay. You have sneaked in unregistered guests in the room, which is a serious violation of the policy.
We had no choice but to call cops and they also agreed with us. By the way thank you for paying for your EXTRA GUEST YOU HAVE SNEAKED IN.
We always like to make our guest's stay comfortable and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    55
    20
    8
    21
See reviews for
72
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here from 7/29/12 to 7/29/12 for the first time and I was pleasantly surprised. I have been coming to the shore for about 15 years now at least once a summer and have stayed in different locations. Although many years back I experience some pleasant stays at The Belmont or The Coral Sands my more recent experiences have been awful. Both those Hotels have been sold to new owners it seems and have taken a huge decline. I was hesitant this year about where to stay. Not only is it hard to find a decent place but everyone has raised their prices significantly over the years (I think it’s due to Seaside’s new found fame with “The Jersey Shore” show). I decided on The Bay Breeze because the gentleman who I originally spoke with (who I later found out was the owner Mike) was very courteous and accommodating (which believe it or not I did not experience with my other inquiry phone calls), also the price was right. The location was great for us being that we were coming by bus from New York. They are located less than 2 blocks away. They are also close to the beach, boardwalk, the water park and the amusement park. The hotel itself was cute and clean (there are no 5 star motels/hotels at the shore). Complimentary breakfast was a plus. Nothing extensive but it was convenient to just stroll downstairs and grab breakfast whether you are heading out or still preparing for the day. Mike and his family were terrific! Everyone was friendly and pleasant. Mike always made sure our stay was going smoothly. I was able to get a late check out for a small fee, which was great! We were able to enjoy another few hours in the sun before leaving. The pool and the pool area were kept very clean. The only negative is that the pool is quite small and if I remember correctly only went up to 5ft. Fine for me but my teen daughters would have preferred a bigger, deeper pool. We will definitely be back here for future visits. Thank you Mike and your lovely daughter for making our weekend stay a positive one!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrissy0613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Point, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

Mike & staff were awesome! The motel was nice and had everything we needed. Loved the complimentary breakfast in the morning. Walking distance to the boardwalk! Definitely staying there again next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogdensburg, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

Once again,Mike the manager made us feel like family! He had our favorite room at the ready and
greeted us immediately upon arrival! We had our customary "Morning Coffee" out front,and
discussed the days plans.We will miss that as the year wears on.When we left,Mike held up
his plans until he said goodbye to us.Then when we arrived home,Mike called to make sure we
got home safe.--"Mike-thanks again for a wonderful stay! We will be back next year!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, New York
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We just returned from our 3rd year at the Bay Breeze. Mike and staff cannot be nicer or do any more for you. Anyone wanting a five star hotel will not find it at the shore. The Bay Breeze is nicely decorated, the rooms and bathrooms are clean pool is small but there are never too many people in the pool so it is good. Should you have a problem it is taken care of immediately and Mike is always checking to make sure everything is ok. I can't wait to go back next summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Not a bad place. Beachy, outdated and close to the boardwalk. The main improvements I would like to see would include nicer bedding, brighter lighting (more lamps), and nicer towels. He also would not provide us with extra towels which was frustrating because we were such a big group. In order to get a new towel we had to bring a used one down to him! He also was a little too dramatic on the check in process...photocopying every guests license before they entered a room, requiring a written statement, large deposit and license pictures via email when booking the trip, and not even letting one of the girls use a bathroom in the office until the check-in process was complete!! It was pretty nuts. Lastly, the complimentary breakfast is a cute attempt, but I didn't dare try anything on the outdoor tiki cart. Overall, for a big group it is cheap and in a good location.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank absolut_jade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flushing, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Overall was a good hotel for Seaside. After our last debacle I paid great attention to others comments. Small free breakfast of cereal, bagels, coffee etc each morning was nice. The room was clean. Owner was very nice. Pool kinda small but stay was pleasant enough. One thing that was a little offputting was if you wanted a late check out it cost $50.00 They want you out by 10am.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyd11355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.1 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#11 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
0.3 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#3 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#6 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Belmont Motel
Belmont Motel
#13 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hershey Motel
Hershey Motel
#4 of 41 in Seaside Heights
3.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Motel
Sunrise Motel
#5 of 41 in Seaside Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Breeze Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Breeze Motel

Property: Bay Breeze Motel
Address: 230 Sumner Ave, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-2328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bay Breeze Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled centrally in the residential area of town, we are just a short walk to the beach, boardwalk, restaurants, amusements, and nightlife of Seaside Heights. We provide clean, well appointed deluxe rooms with comfortable modern facilities to our discriminating guests. Something for everyone, and it's all right here. We feature easy access to beautiful white-sanded beaches and the bayfront! Of course, the family will love our famous boardwalk with many rides, attractions and lots of arcade fun! For water fun with even more zip, try the nearby waverunner and water sport rental and the amusement park! And why not give the newly remodeled Breakwater Beach Water park a try? And don't miss the fireworks every Wednesday night on the boardwalk!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Bay Breeze Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Hotel Seaside Heights
Bay Breeze Seaside Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing