We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in fun atmosphere”
Review of Hemingway's Cafe

Hemingway's Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chatham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food in fun atmosphere”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We always run here when we don't have a reservation set for the evening since there is a fun, family friendly bar area to have appys while waiting for a table.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank worstmomintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    40
    25
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Jersey, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“hated it”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

45 minute wait after being told 20 minutes. Food was extremely over priced for the minimal portions. Waiter neglected us the whole time and seating was unacceptable. After serving our food he did not return for 35 minutes until we had been waiting 10 minutes for the check. My boyfriend actually had to move his chair into the aisle to give the woman behind him room to even sit down. Never been before and never going back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best sushi”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We went to Hemingways last night and didnt know what was on the menu. I have always been apprehensive to try sushi but i am so glad that I ended up trying it there. The appetizer was delicious and the sushi was phenomenal. The service was great and very fast. I don't like to go to the same place twice while on vacation but with the small amount of nice restaurants in seaside heights I would definitely go back to Hemingways. Great overall, no complaints!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kk52088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great bartenders - horrible waitress”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Im not gonna bash the place, just our waitress. the food was great the bartenders were hilarious and fun - stay at the bar if you can!

we went to our table and two of us shared a pizza while the other two got individual salads. the salads came out 20 minutes before the pizza. when we told the waitress she made up random excuses saying it would take a while, then 2 minutes later she said "it just came out" - but it was cold - the cheese wasnt even gooey anymore.

she must have known we were pissed because she didnt even say bye.

but the place is huge, great environment, good food and bartenders were AMAZING - eat at the bar!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Arts_RT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“overrated”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

the service took forever, the waiter was rude and had the nerve to add his own tip. and all we had was to grilled chicken salads and clam chowder soup got there at 6:30 we were served at 8

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank carmen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hemingway's Cafe also viewed

Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
 
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
Seaside Park, Jersey Shore
 
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Hemingway's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing