We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going Down”

Casino Pier & Breakwater Beach Waterpark
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Casino Pier welcomes children, families, thrill-seekers, and boardwalk pleasure admirers. Stroll through the variety of rides our amusement park offers situated on a classic Jersey Shore pier, extending into the heart of the Atlantic Ocean. Whether you are looking to take your family to experience the rides for the first time or you are a returning visitor, with plenty of rides, cool ocean breezes, and a spectacular view, the Casino Pier amusement park has something for everyone! Breakwater Beach is a state-of-the-art water park with one of the largest interactive play area on the North Atlantic Coast. The renovation of “Jenkinson’s Breakwater Beach Waterpark at Casino Pier” (Formally Water Works) offers our customers a fun and exciting family attraction. The Casino Arcade is jam packed with all of the latest video & redemption games of chance, along with all of the classic slot machines, skee ball and pin ball games. No matter what your age, you will appreciate the variety of games in our arcade. You can win tickets that are redeemable for great prizes, take a ride on our antique carousel or compete against each other in one on our numerous racing video games.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Going Down”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Was born and raised in NJ, now living in Phoenix. Just returned from my yearly NJ visit which of course included a trip 'down the shore'.

So sad...the 2 piers gone and the rest of the boardwalk still in a state of being repaired.
Most of the food and games are up and running.
Still a high fee to use the beach.
Only public bathrooms were port-o-potties.
The familiar smell of tar on the old boards is gone since they've been replaced. To me that smell meant Seaside.

Hurricane Sandy or not, I think the place will be going nowhere but down. I hope I'm wrong.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dkrstec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBPLLC, Public Relations Manager at Casino Pier & Breakwater Beach Waterpark, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review. We suffered a horrific tragedy from Hurricane Sandy. But we have rebuilt and are back.

We hope to have you visit again from Arizona and see the changes that we have made and how Seaside is able to flourish once again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    140
    50
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The boards are back”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Was just in Seaside Heights tonight. Most of the boardwalk is back up And running. Just not the two piers, it will be a long time for them, but 99 % of the eateries are open and the boards were very busy tonight most of the games and stores are open the singers and bands are back in the bars, you can def go there and there is plenty to do.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PatKtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBPLLC, Public Relations Manager at Casino Pier & Breakwater Beach Waterpark, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your review! Yes after a tragic devastation from Hurricane Sandy. Casino Pier and the boardwalk is up and running!

We appreciate all the support from the community and guests. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Post Apocalyptic”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

Memorial day weekend 2013, most of the shops and restaurants are still closed and the amusement park looks like a bomb hit it. It was very sad to see some of my favorite places like Maruca's Pizza boarded over, but I wouldn't mind if some of the sleazier places are replaced by more family oriented businesses. The boardwalk itself seems to be in pretty good shape now, you can see where the planks were replaced. Not a lot of people, but this was probably because of the lousy weather. It looks like the rides will not be opening this year. Most of them are just gone. The structures for the tower of fear and the sling shot are still standing so my kids will get to go on them some day (they have been waiting to be old enough). Hopefully, the boardwalk will continue to come back to life as warmer weather sets in.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank BillSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBPLLC, Public Relations Manager at Casino Pier & Breakwater Beach Waterpark, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Bill,
Thank you for your review. We were tragically devastated by Hurricane Sandy.
However we did have our rides up and operating in July and still have them open through October!

We have plans to finish our upper deck by next summer.

The rest of the restaurants and businesses have been open all summer as well.

We hope to see you again soon to see how things are looking great now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachwood nj
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not family friendly”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Thanks to MTV and the mayor the town is full of lowlifes. If you want to drop the bank in a night... thats the place to be.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachwood nj
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Past 8 years Super Storm Sandy or not ,its not a place to go.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I live in a great little town on the Toms River, for me and my family we take a 2 hour ride south a nice day trip to go to the boardwalk. 10 years ago I would have said it was a great place .But the past 7 or 8 years its gone down hill. Thanks to MTV and the Mayor for bring in all the lowlifes. Now I drive on the outside of town to go to the beach Island State Park now that the place to go.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CBPLLC, Public Relations Manager at Casino Pier & Breakwater Beach Waterpark, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Mike,
Thank you for voicing your opinion. Casino Pier and Breakwater Beach still strives to be a family attraction. The Jersey Shore show has not filmed here for over 3 years.

We are still welcoming to kids, grandparents, all ages. Our rides are great for young ones and for older ones as well.

We hope to have you come over to Casino Pier again soon and see how it still is great for your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casino Pier & Breakwater Beach Waterpark also viewed

 
Seaside Heights, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Casino Pier & Breakwater Beach Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing