We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what is it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
GreenLeadersSilver level
Canberra
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It is what is it”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here so we could see a different part of New Jersey for on night - was a little hesitant after reading some previous reviews. Checkin was smooth and easy and yes the room was tiny, but we don't come on holidays to stay in our room. The location was great a quick walk to the boardwalk but well enough away so you can't hear it. The only one problem was we did have paper thin towels and our hand towel was looked dirty (marks and even was plastering on it), small little things like that make a difference.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dash T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at our hotel. We appreciate that you enjoyed the area and the room for the most part. We do understand that you had an issue with the size of the room and we hope we can provide a larger room for you during your next visit. As per the hand towel, we apologize for the issue with marks on it. We have already spoke to housekeeping about verifying that the hand towels are not damaged. We look forward to your next visit!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - EconoLodge Seaside Heights / Toms River
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    7
    5
    19
See reviews for
22
20
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

This Hotel was absolutely a tremendous surprise. Great rooms, the place was updated to the fullest! Like a modern boutique, I truly enjoyed the vibe. If you get a chance check this place out! My stay in Seaside Heights was great, will be traveling there again as soon as I can!

Oh yeah let me add, Housekeeping was phenomenal.

I was very pleasantly surprised with entire experience.

Room Tip: My family really enjoyed the spacious 2 bedroom suite, it was HUGE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank supiverson2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We appreciate you sharing and look forward to your future visit!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Everything was updated - room wise
Outside still had construction going on
Comfortable beds
Not far from boardwalk or food places
Few blocks from seven eleven
Clean pool
Friendly manager
New TV
Free wifi
Air condition
Decent size bathroom
Enjoyable stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Satisfied Guest,

Thank you for sharing about your wonderful experience at our great hotel! Our staff work hard to keep all the wonderful amenities available for our guests and to help guests have how you so well described as an enjoyable stay. We sincerely appreciate your sharing of a great experience, as so many have, but few will write about!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Hotel Charlee Seaside Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaside Heights, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

I stay here at least a few times a month all year round when I go to visit family. I am always taken care of by the very attentive and polite manager during my stay. They are very reasonably priced and provide fresh tea and coffee which is very convenient. I recommend that anyone going to Seaside should stay here and take advantage of the great value and service provided.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iluvursmiles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are so happy your enjoyed your stay with us. Though we do host so many guests, few take the time to share their great experience. So bravo to you for this, we sincerely appreciate you!

Best Regards,
Guest Relations - Hotel Charlee Seaside Heights
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Boston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We Stay here pretty much every year or every time we visit seaside , i love the renovations every thing looks pretty new i highly recommend this place , friendly staff and nice management made feel like home

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kareem B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to highlight our excellent stay at our great hotel. Our staff really appreciate your support and look forward to having you stay with us again very soon!

We are dedicated to continually improving our hotel so we may always be an excellent hotel for your stay!

-Guest Relations Manager, Hotel Charlee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Under new management... used to be called the Sands. Let me just say that our room/motel was a dump. I've stayed in Seaside before, so I certainly wasn't expected luxury or anything close to it, but this was bad. Got a room with a double bed and didn't expect the room to be so small. There was hardly enough room to move my belongings in. Room was maybe 10" x 12" with a decent-sized bathroom... like a small bedroom. The room itself (#206) was a terrible location. Our window opened directly to a shared terrace. With paper thin walls, you could hear other guests' every word from outside as they hung out and smoked on the patio. My room guest went out to the balcony to see if he could hear me talking in my room from the patio' and yes, he could. So yeah, no privacy. Also, low security. Our room window had an A/C unit in it that could easily be pushed in from anyone on the balcony. Anyone could easily break into our room through the window and rob us. Luckily, our stay was after labor day so there weren't too many other guests, so I wasn't too worried about it. Had it been much busier and filled with teenagers (sorry to pass judgment), like prom weekend, I definitely would have requested a different room. Upon arrival, I inspected my room. Immediately noticed the bedsheets were not clean; there were long brown hairs and several pubic hairs under the blanket. Eww. Grossed me out. I requested clean sheets at the front desk and they were happy to have the maid get me clean sheets, although there was no apology for this oversight. I also noticed there was a used dirty bathroom towel still hanging on the back of the bathroom door. It's now obvious to me that the maid did not do her job. As if the room could not get any worse, when me and my guest went to bed, we noticed the A/C unit did not work. Sleeping that night in hot humid Jersey weather was not too comfortable. The next day I asked for it to be replaced, and the front desk graciously did so as I spent the day at the beach. When I got back to room hours later, I noticed that upon replacing the A/C unit, dirt, dust and lint from the old unit had gotten all over my bed blanket. Again, no one seemed to notice this or have courtesy enough to clean this off. I also noticed that our room did not have a microwave as their website stated it was supposed to have. Fortunately, I didn't require it's use so it wasn't big deal, but still... it's not right to say your room has something and then it doesn't. The next morning, I put one of those "Maid Service Please" hangers on our door. When we got back from the beach, our maid had 'serviced' our room by merely putting two clean towels on our bed. She did not remove any of our used towels which I had placed in a pile on the bathroom floor; she did not make our bed. Seriously, do the maids here do anything? And lastly, I thought it was strange that our motel room did not have a phone. Sure, everyone has a cell these days, but I find it very convenient to have a room phone for dialing room to room or to the front desk. The only positives I can note about Hotel Charlee are that our room had a flat screen TV with HBO, the room had a contemporary (albeit cheap) décor, it had a close location to the beach and boardwalk, and the showers had hot water. Although this is America, so that last one is obvious. I would never stay at Hotel Charlee again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank songgirl84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Traveller,

We see that you had issues with your stay. We will look into all the issues you mentioned so as to provide the best for our guests. As many guests have mentioned before, we are their favorite in Seaside Heights and are sorry you did not feel the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seaside Heights hotels

Brooklyn
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was excited to visit Seaside Heights to support the businesses that are coming back from Super Storm Sandy, but Hotel Charlee only looks ready on the outside. When you walk up, it looks colorful and fresh and modern, but our room was in a state of mild distress. The bathroom was a DIY mess with tiles that didn't go all the way to the walls or connect to each other in all spots; the shower floor was grubby; the television didn't work. The place was very close to the beach, though, so it had that going for it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anisoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest-Relations08751, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing about our hotel. We understand you had some minor issues. Our hardworking staff would have loved to assist you with those issues. We will continue improving our hotel during this off season so our guests will enjoy the hotel even more on your next visit! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seaside Heights hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Palace Motel
Sea Palace Motel
#12 of 39 in Seaside Heights
32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms River
Days Inn Seaside Heights/Toms Ri...
#23 of 39 in Seaside Heights
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
Palm Villa Suites Hotel
#17 of 39 in Seaside Heights
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Seaside Heights/toms River
Travelodge Seaside Heights/toms ...
#24 of 39 in Seaside Heights
12 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Motel
Sunset Motel
#4 of 39 in Seaside Heights
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Franklin Terrace Motel
Franklin Terrace Motel
#5 of 39 in Seaside Heights
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River

Property: Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River
Address: 1402 Boulevard, One block from the Beach / Boardwalk, Seaside Heights, NJ 08751-1914 (Formerly Hotel Charlee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Seaside Heights
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Seaside Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River, is supported by a staff of people interested in one objective: a great experience. The hotel's guest-rooms are designed to feel modern, comfortable, and functional. Simply Easy to Relax. The Jersey Shore can be enjoyed in many ways. Whether you decide to stroll a short block to the boardwalk and beach, or use the hotel's pool and iCenter, you will enjoy your relaxing time. Parking on-site or nearby? Yep, limited amount. Wi-Fi? Of course! Restaurants and Stores nearby? Gotcha covered. Nightlife? Closeby, but won't disturb your sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Econo Lodge - Seaside Heights / Toms River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing