We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Below Expectations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fontana Coast

La Fontana Coast
Reserve with OpenTable
La Fontana Coast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 75 Restaurants in Sea Isle City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 50th Street
Transit: Trolley stops during summer season
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Below Expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family has a house in Sea Isle and told us the food was great. We had an 8:30 reservation on a Thursday night, but because nobody wanted to sit outside due to the heat and bugs, we waited for 35 minutes. The restaurant gave us a complimentary caprese since we waited for so long, which was decent. We ordered our meals; two people ordered the fusilli and seafood special, which was great. Unfortunately, the shrimp scampi and the linguini and clams were extremely under par. They both were served with a white wine sauce, but it tasted like a butter sauce that you would serve to a four year old. When we told the waiter it was not up to par, he accused us of talking/not being aware of him one of the two times he checked on us during our meal. Because of the overbooking of reservations and the attitude of the server towards the end of the meal, I do not plan to recommend nor return to this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank 98rover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    18
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“STOP OVERBOOKING”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

I come to SIC every summer weekend. When they opened, I assumed they were working out kinks with booking. Now I know that they overbook as a rule.

If you don't like to wait, skip it.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Triciab876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sea isle
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sadly disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

I was really looking forward to a great meal, which I had enjoyed at La Fontana in Strathmere (the original, I believe). I had been there a few times and was glad, while in Sea Isle for my wedding anniversary, that we could try out La Fontana II.......sad. The atmosphere was nice, our server attentive and informative, but both my food and my husband' meal were a disappointment. My husband ordered the fish of the day, orange ruffy with lump crab meat in a sauce; the crab meat was very good, the sauce...OK, and the fish, well...fishy? In our experience, fresh fish is not usually so ......"fishy". For my meal, I ordered the seafood risotto .....I love this....but, the RICE...was like undercooked rice, the seafood was once again, fishy tasting and smelling, and there was very little flavor to the whole dish. For about $25 a plate, no salad included, I really wanted my meal to taste good. In fact, delicious!! this was not. We will not return to this restaurant, but I'm looking forward to a great creamy seafood risotto soon.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food with a Shore Flare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Restaurant week came to Sea Isle City and La Fontana Coast was on the list so I visited it on a Tuesday evening. The eggplant starter was very very good. The ceasar salad need to be more creamy, the grilled slamon was just perfect and to top it all..the canoli was very good, the ricotta cheese was very much part of it..and that is good. The service was very good and the atmosphere very old world

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PuertoRicoLOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
96 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Get Ready for an Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Kids are welcome but it is an adult foodie place.
The chief is a euro pro and is part of founders of
the 3 properties. The dishes are authentic Northern
Italian with a taste of Tuscany dishes. Anything with fish
is great and try some of the pasta specials. If you get
angle hair pasta dish do not continue to talk but diffuse
the heat out of the pasta before eating. The sauces are over the top
and the presentations are great. Choose the saute calamari for a starter
to share. You taste paled will be laughing and dancing the food is that good.
The service is excellent and the staff attentive in a good way.
Make reservations for any night. If you want authentic Italian treat yourself
whatmorecanyousay

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank whatmorecanyousay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Fontana Coast also viewed

Sea Isle City, Cape May County
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
 
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
 
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
Sea Isle City, Cape May County
 

Been to La Fontana Coast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing