We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely quiet dining areas, great service and food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scarborough Fair

Scarborough Fair
Reserve with OpenTable
Scarborough Fair is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Sea Girt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $70
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 35
Transit: Bus:830 Rt 71 at Sea Girt Ave# (Stop ID: 25243)
Jersey Shore, New Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“lovely quiet dining areas, great service and food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

wonderful for special nights, always had great meals and desserts. Easy parking, although not especially handicapped accessible.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank birkalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    36
    15
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“scarborough fair is a find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

After living over 10 years in Manasqua for 10 years I only found out about Scarborough Fair after seeing it listed on Open Table. The restaurant is right off Rte 35 however it is not visible to traffic. The location however is one of its greatest assets. Quiet and attractive outside, it also has a rather rustic interior which allows for a rather private and quiet dinner.

The food is excellent and we highly recommend the grouper which has been on the menu for years. There are enough good choices of fish, meat and vegetarian dishes making it difficult to make a selection.

The restaurant is very consumer friendly and will offer substitutions as needed. As someone who needs to avoid carbs, the staff have always been willling to substitute extra vegatables.

Recently we had a special guest in our home. Scarborough Fair was the number one choice out of the many good restaurants in the area.

Although initially hard to find, Scarborough Fair is a definiite find.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NandJNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, NJ
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

The restaurant has an interesting layout - maybe it's just me, but I felt a bit like we were in a treehouse. Quirky and cute. We went for a late lunch on a weekend and the restaurant wasn't very crowded. Even so, we were seated at a table right next to the few diners that were there but otherwise the service and food were both solidly good. It may be a different experience at night, as I would not have classified this restaurant as "upscale" as some of the other diners have. It was nice, but I judging by what I saw at lunch, I would probably not go for a special occasion.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank morningdove225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good ambiance and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Have been going to Scarboro Fair for years. Food and service has always been very good. The interior of the restaurant, is unique and not noisy. Great place to go for a date or special occasion.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
652 reviews
266 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
“Upscale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a fancy restaurant. The food and wine were memorable. I had a nice scallop dinner and my husband had duck. The service was great. One of our friends tried the antelope. The chocolate truffle dessert was delicious. The restaurant is a good place to go with friends. It did get a bit noisy and the table for four was a bit crowded.
This would be a good place to celebrate an anniversary/birthday, etc.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelingrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Fair also viewed

Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Point Pleasant Beach, Jersey Shore
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
 
Spring Lake, Jersey Shore
Asbury Park, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Scarborough Fair? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing