We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite sushi restaurant of the Jersey shore.”
Review of Yumi

Yumi
Ranked #7 of 31 Restaurants in Sea Bright
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Port Charlotte, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi restaurant of the Jersey shore.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I frequent Yumi. Everything on the menu is fresh and delicious. One of our favorites is the Rumson roll but there are so many great chefs signature rolls. The service is excellent and it's BYO. A must try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lena15448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2x Nobu of the Jersey Shore”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is one of those sleeper restaurants that I am reluctant to review since I want to keep it a secret. You will not find a better sushi spot on the shore. The chef is super creative and the fish is fantastic. The tuna pizza rocks. The lettuce cups are also a great starter. Favorite roll of all time is the ocean ave. the spicy crispy tuna roll is also fantastic.

Shhh, don't tell too many folks about this spot!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spraybeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi restaurant”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

As a tripadvisor reviewer I often overlook the local restaurants where I live. Yumi is one that needs to be mentioned, especially since it was destroyed by Sandy and just reopened a few months ago. Although everything on the menu is absolutely delicious I need to mention a couple of specialty's. The tuna sashimi pizza is a must whenever I visit and any one of the chefs signature rolls are complex flavor sensations. I usually get so worked up about the fish that I rarely order from the kitchen but the 12 hour pork belly will slow you down to savor every bite. I can't say enough about Yumi, the food and staff are wonderful and if you are in Sea Bright stop by and check it out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gene2461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun lunch”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I met a friend for a birthday lunch on a Monday. Restaurant was quiet and dark, but the service was attentive and we shared some fun rolls. Would love to go back for dinner. It's byo.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank enjoyinglifeinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nobu of The Jersey Shore”
Reviewed October 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife and I frequent Yumi quite often in the summer. The food is outstanding and fish is extremely fresh. There is no liquor license so byob. however the staff is super nice and will even store unfinished bottles for your next visit. sushi is that of Nobu quality. Highly recommended restaurant if you are in the sea bright area.
The restaurant was damaged during Hurricane Sandy but was rebuilt almost exactly the same as the original restaurant.
Prices are decent. Not as high as NYC but higher than an average restaurant on the Jersey shore.
The good food and quality sushi make up for it.
Great restaurant with a friendly staff.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jack h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yumi also viewed

Sea Bright, Jersey Shore
Sea Bright, Jersey Shore
 
Sea Bright, Jersey Shore
Sea Bright, Jersey Shore
 
Sea Bright, Jersey Shore
Sea Bright, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Yumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing