We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intolerable customer service ruined the experience. I won't return”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hung Shanghai Restaurant
Ranked #29 of 49 Restaurants in Scotch Plains
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Fanwood, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intolerable customer service ruined the experience. I won't return”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

I'm disappointed to have to say that I will never go back here after the horrendous treatment we received. We ate here and ordered out (despite the fact that they do not deliver) several times, and the food was better than most Chinese in the area, albeit a bit more expensive and inconvenient to have to pick up. I ordered the same dish every time I went:srimp with black bean sauce (with string beans). The first few times I reiterated that I wanted the string beans, and was informed that that's the way the dish is now made.
After ordering this 4 or 5 times, I ordered take out and got home to find that there were mixed vegetables (which I don't eat). I called immediately and got nothing but "that's how it comes, OK?" and "you already took it home, so nothing we can do." I offered to come back and reiterated that I hadn't touched the food, and that I have ordered this several times and it was not the same. Rather than being apologetic or trying to help, they told me that I had NEVER eaten there before and proceeded to argue with me, basically accusing me of lying. I asked for the owner or manager "John" who refused to talk to me.
I threw away the food and I'll never go back. too bad because the food was decent, but certainly not worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DelicouslyYours14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    5
    1
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is a Racist Establishment”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

My family went to dinner tonight at Hung's Shanghai Restaurant on Park Ave. in Scotch Plains, NJ. to celebrate my sisters birthday. The waitress was rude and her tone was highly inappropriate from the moment we sat down. We will never eat at this establishment or recommend Hung's to anyone. We feel that we were mistreated because of our race. I am appalled that my senior citizen parents, siblings and children had to witness this.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Benita515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Love the Food!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great food, Great atmosphere and Great Service. Have been here several times and the food is always consistent. This restaurant is good for a romantic evening or lunch with friends. Nice and quiet and the food is so fresh. A little on the expensive side but you get what you pay for. I would have given them 5 stars if they had delivery.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“We LOVE Hung's”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We've been going to Hung's for great Chinese food for the past 20 years and we always have a good experience.
Whether eating in or taking out the staff is friendly, the place is clean and the food is delicious.
Their pork lo mein is the best around.
The prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Irishys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Pricier then expected”
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The food was excellent. I loved the pork fried rice. It is the best I ever had. The noodles are homemade and amazing. Calling ahead if you are taking out food would be key. My son enjoyed watching the koi fish while we waited.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TipsonRoadTripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hung Shanghai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Hung Shanghai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing