We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in NJ!”

The Saddle River Inn
Reserve with OpenTable
The Saddle River Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: East Allendale Avenue & West Saddle River Road
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in NJ!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is one of the best meals I have ever had. The food is delicious (we loved our soup!) and the services is outstanding. The waiters brought over our food at the same time (we were a party of two and two waiters came over to serve at the same time). The hostess was nice enough to take our picture too. Truly a fantastic experience worth every penny.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MsMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    39
    12
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Montvale NJ
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly fine dining”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Don't be put off by the under-construction parking. The Inn has a low key but elegant interior. Gentlemen wear jackets. The service was pretty attentive, my only complaint would be the water glasses were not refilled for a long time. As mentioned in other reviews, your meal is started with a crusty bread served with delicious pumpkin butter. Two of our party had a crisp Bibb lettuce salad with a citrus vinaigrette. Another greatly enjoyed the escargot. The lobster and mushroom risotto entree was scrumptious: rich but not heavy. The duck was a hit as well. The chef was able to combine several items on the plate of our vegetarian diner and he was happy with the selection. Desserts were a cherry sorbet, peanut butter mousse with vanilla ice cream and an apple crisp. All were good. The portions are not large but you will certainly leave feeling full. This is definitely a pricy restaurant but the good news is you can save a lot with the BYO factor. You will not get the warm & fuzzy feeling that you might get at your favorite pizza place. What you will get is a gourmet meal with professional service in a relaxing atmosphere of sophistication. So leave the kids at home and pretend it's a special occasion...you will have a wonderful dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyHollyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
124 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic !!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

From the moment we entered the restaurant we were treated exceptionally well. The wait staff was attentive but not intrusive. Every dish we had looked like a piece of art and then the taste, well every bite bursted with flavor in our mouths. Definitely a place to go back to. We celebrated two birthdays and it is definitely the place to go.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“May I correct you?”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is in response to pdclarry's review. I must agree that the new owners are doing an outstanding job in continuing the tradition of the original Saddle River Inn. They are stylish and ambitious and we wish them only the greatest success. I am not writing this to defend or contest any of the claims in your review, I will however take exception to your description of 'the wagon wheel chandelier'. Your claim of 'having been a longtime customer of the Inn (30 years) totally baffled me. How could you have missed The Chandelier that hung at the Inn for over 25 years, was purchased at an exclusive auction and was the centerpiece of any article or review written about us? No 'wagon wheel chandelier' ever hung at the Inn, you must have confused us with another restaurant. I am happy that you enjoyed the new Saddle River Inn and I hope that you will continue your support and spread the good word.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Imelda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC Area
Level Contributor
184 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“New face for an old favorite”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Saddle River Inn has been a favorite of ours for the past 30 years. It recently changed ownership (and chef), so we went back with a little trepidation. Our concerns were unfounded. If anything, it is better than ever. The BYO nature means that you can have fine wine with your meal and still keep the cost reasonable. The dishes we had included a couple that had been on the menu under the previous owner, and a couple of new and exciting selections. For appetizers we had roasted foie gras beet, pear and bleu cheese salad (both traditional). For entree's Red Snapper over white beans with sausage (innovative) and a rib eye steak with spicy baby shrimp (a real winner). The deserts were fairly standard, but well prepared and presented.

The old barn that houses the restaurant has had a facelift also, and it is an improvement. Gone is the wagon wheel chandelier, replaced with a astrolabe motif throughout the restaurant. The curtains have been removed from the windows, improving the view of the mill pond. On this visit the parking lot was still under construction, but when it is completed it will be a big improvement over the dirt lot of the past.

The total cost including tip came to about $100 each, not including the fine wine we brought. A real bargain.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdclarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Saddle River Inn also viewed

 
Ridgewood, NJ
 
 

Been to The Saddle River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing