We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eros Cafe did good by us”
Review of After Athens/Eros Cafe - CLOSED

After Athens/Eros Cafe
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Bethel (Canton), North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Eros Cafe did good by us”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We visited the Eros Cafe on a recommendation of friends, and were not disappointed. We were in Rutherford for five days and enjoyed our first visit so much we visited a second time. The traditional Greek dishes we ordered were well prepared and thoroughly enjoyed. The pastries and desserts are rich and satisfying. I noted a number of negative comments here, but found ample parking in a lot behind the restaurant, and the staff was pleasant and quite capable. I look forward to visiting again on my next NJ trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobEtier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    16
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bad news”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

After Athens used to be a restaurant good enough that we took friends there. Now, we'd be embarrassed to take people there. Poorly trained staff and poor quality food. Have you ever watched a server fillet a fish with a dinner knife? It's not pretty, especially when you've paid $23 to have a bony mess left on your plate. And how can a Greek restaurant serve stale baklava? We drove half an hour to go there, and we won't do it again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyer044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The decent food is not worth dealing with HORRIBLE staff.”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This place is in an ok location, could not find parking, but was still impressed with the inside decorations & whatnot. However besides the pretty views and average food, the staff is ridiculously lazy and rude. The only food that is decent on the menu is the cafe style food (wraps,salads,gyros) but if you want a dinner (steak,chicken,etc) you will be disappointed. Ok if you want to go for a coffee and desert-- you won't be too disappointed with the food but when you have to deal with any of the staff there prepare yourself for the rudest and most careless people. The MANAGER, who you would expect to be the most helpful one, was a rude and nasty woman. Didn't want to do anything extra to help the customers at ALL, we had a large group and needed help splitting the bill--FORGET IT. She snapped on us and would not help, she threw the receipt down and said you figure it out. I don't know how such a b**** like that can hold a managerial position.. The owner must be related or never there. Anyway.. The waiters are also lazy and careless especially once the tip is already included in the bill, they must feel they don't need to clean the table or come back to check on the table.. Horrible. I will never go back there and the entire group I was with agrees!!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Justwow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Sweet life”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Good place with several differently styled sitting areas. Tasty cakes, especially Greek one, also pies and Belgian waffles.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiheya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyed dining while sitting on a patio behind the restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived before the crowd and soon it was very lively and crowded on a Tuesday night. The food was excellent, I had grilled octopus, which was awesome. My husband had the lamb kebabs. We shared a dip accompanied by great warm pita bread. It is a very well priced restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Athens/Eros Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing