We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet life”
Review of After Athens/Eros Cafe - CLOSED

After Athens/Eros Cafe
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Natick, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Sweet life”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Good place with several differently styled sitting areas. Tasty cakes, especially Greek one, also pies and Belgian waffles.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiheya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    7
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Enjoyed dining while sitting on a patio behind the restaurant”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We arrived before the crowd and soon it was very lively and crowded on a Tuesday night. The food was excellent, I had grilled octopus, which was awesome. My husband had the lamb kebabs. We shared a dip accompanied by great warm pita bread. It is a very well priced restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DianeC91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oradell, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Athens in Rutherford:”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

In July one of our friends suggested we should have dinner at 'After Athens' (19 Park Avenue in Rutherford), so we went there on a Saturday night. They have a parking lot behind the restaurant which is great because you don’t have to look for a place to park your car in the main part of town. After parking we entered through the back patio area and then through an adjoining restaurant; The Eros Café, which is more informal. After Athens, itself, is spacious with high ceilings & some exposed brick which gives it somewhat of a rustic décor. We had reservations and were seated immediately. Our waiter was very friendly, helpful and attentive. The dinner menu is essentially Greek fare (what else would you expect in a restaurant named Athens) which is for the most part reasonably priced. For an appetizer we ordered the Grilled Marinated Octopus, which was excellent. We then selected one of the recommended specials for dinner, which was also good. The staff did not rush us and we were able to relax after our meal and continue our conversations.

I just read some of the negative comments about this restaurant and fortunately we did not have that type of experience. We’re thinking of returning and possibly having dinner in the outdoor patio.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SandF2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good hookah!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The hookah was delicious and so were the chicken fingers and fries haha I would definitely go back. Waitresses were a bit snobby, but it was fine. Not too attentive, but the hookah was amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stephanie649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Lots of potential, but ultimately disappointing Greek dining experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We tried this restaurant on a quiet weekday evening. The menu is suitably impressive, and the food, while a bit uneven, was solid Greek fare. The souvlaki used good cuts of lamb, but the marinade and spices lacked zing - would have benefitted from more lime and salt. The tzatziki sauce was quite good, which can be a difficult thing to get right. I had dessert - Gaclto-something-or-other, which was delicious and rich (if heavy) and made the trip worthwhile.

The service was pretty abominable, though. Wait staff were nice enough, but inattentive, and though the staff outnumbered diners throughout our meal, we were neglected to the point where an hour and a half meal stretched out to two-and-a-half hours, and we just about had to lasso and hogtie wait staff to get their attention. The lack of prompt and attentive service had our party leaving the restaurant in a bad mood, even though the food was good enough and the atmosphere was quite nice (bare brick walls to accentuate the historic bones of the building).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdventurousTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed After Athens/Eros Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing