We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic Culinary Delights!”
Review of Cafe Matisse

Cafe Matisse
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe Matisse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $85 - $120
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Highland Cross
Description: Cafe Matisse’s mission is to provide our patrons with a fine dining experience in an elegant yet casual, convivial atmosphere. We strive to address every detail and exceed expectations to create an experience that is truly a departure from the ordinary. Chef Owner Peter Loria’s hand crafted dishes are presented in either a three or a four course grazing menu option. We look forward to providing you and your guests with a special evening to remember! Nestled in a renovated circa 1898 firehouse, Café Matisse’s elegant dining room is adorned with Matisse silhouettes and bejeweled chandeliers. Our European courtyard, complete with romantic water features, is open each summer season from May 15th through October 15th.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Artistic Culinary Delights!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Dining and grazing at Cafe Matisse is always a delectable and tantalizing treat! The service is top notch and you never want for anything! They satisfy your every need and desire, and do it with style, grace and humor! The food is always complex, innovative, inventive and beautiful to the eye and to the palate! We had a wonderful anniversary meal last night in the romantic gardens under a moonlit sky! We love our little culinary jewel, Cafe Matisse!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank photogal06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    24
    8
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Englewood, NJ
Level Contributor
211 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Ummmbelievable”
Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Went here for our anniversary and we'll be back soon. What a find! I can't believe we've never been here before. Fantastic food and amazing and friendly service. Fantastique.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gourageous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Place in NJ”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

There is simply not a better restaurant in NJ, and only a handful in NYC can compare to the creativity and consistently exceptional food that Peter creates in his kitchen. Add a great little wine store in front (yes, it is BYO) and terrific service from Larry (the best!!) and team, and a room and garden that are truly jewels, and it adds up to our favorite place for a special occasion. We actually closed it down for our 25th anniversary and they nailed every detail. If I could, I would eat here every week, and never have to have the same thing twice (except I would want to because so many of Peter's inventions are so fabulous!!). If you are a meat and potatoes person, stay home. But if you appreciate the absolutely most creative and tasty food imaginable (and I really do not know how he imagines some of the combinations he comes up with) this is nirvana.
Tip - best crab cakes anywhere.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Zporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern NJ
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a pretty place to enjoy fine French cuisine”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

It's a small place. We went on a lovely summer evening with our adult kids, and got a table outside. The food took time to arrive, and was so artistically assembled! The three ladies loved the whole experience. The four men left hungry, they said. I want to return with my girlfriends.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank trvlcompanion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Culinary Experience”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Special birthday dinner. Cafe Matisse did not disappoint. My wife and I had wanted to try Cafe Matisse for some time now. Everything lived up to our high expectations. The food is otherworldly. Great service in a beautiful romantic setting. What more could you ask for? And in Rutherford NJ no less.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdcarr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Matisse also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Matisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing