We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never disappoints!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Basil

Red Basil
Ranked #27 of 61 Restaurants in Rutherford
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: this used to be the Spring Grill, but I think that Red Basil has been open at that location since 2010; it has very delicious Thai food and lots of vegetarian options
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Never disappoints!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

We adore this restaurant. The spicy noodles are amazing, and you can't beat the prices (byob...dinner for 4 will run you around $50). Very pretty interior and the service is always on point.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tds1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
239 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Thai food with coziness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The thai food was really good, we took our friends here as we had been here before. The veggie duck is amazing. I had the veggie duck basil and others around the table had the pad thai and penang curry, everyone food was excellent. Very tasty. The appetizers were amazing as well. We had the spring rolls, pan fried dumpling and recommended by our server- scallion pancakes. They staff was very nice, we spent 3 hours here chatting away and they even brought us hot tea and told us no rush we close at 11pm. Very friendly and nice staff. I will be returning again soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank meworldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Red Basil YUMMMMM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our first time here and it was perfect the waitress told us they can make any of the dishes vegetarian for us.
We will be back soon

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davidjohn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“good for Thai lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

good test.....expensive in comparison to food quality & test.....few options for no meat items.....nice hospitality

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amruta V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

With the plethora of Thai restaurants these days, you'd be hard pressed to find one that stands out. Red Basil is definitely one of them. The food always tastes fresh, and the flavors are always consistent. The quality of the food overall is very good, and the prices are great! The decor is very nice and becoming, and it's BYOB, which is also a plus. If you can, check out the lunch specials - good-sized portions at a reasonable price.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Basil also viewed

 
East Rutherford, NJ
 
Rutherford, NJ
 

Been to Red Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing