We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Close to NYC”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here for New Year's Eve trip to NYC. Very nice hotel in a good location close to the city. Front desk was very helpful with information and gave us a bus schedule for getting into the city. Bus stop was only a short walk to the corner. Room was clean, well furnished with modern amenities and well stocked with supplies. Would def stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizzamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Kizzamin,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your stay with us at Renaissance. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and had a nice, comfortable stay. Hope you had a great time in NYC! Please make plans to come and see us again. We enjoyed having you and hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    91
    35
    10
    9
See reviews for
63
45
8
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anywhere
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night and found it to be a quality hotel with clean, spacious rooms, friendly staff, and all the ammenities a business travler needs.

The rooms are well furnished, clean, and comfortable. The executive lounge is well stocked but rather small. The lounge can get very crowded at times, especially during the morning hours.

This hotel provides quick access to all local businesses and New York City via car or bus. Not much to do around the hotel, don't expect to walk anywhere as this is a business hotel not really a vacation spot. Overall, an excellent, restful stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poncherello1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
poncherello1,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate hearing from you, and we're glad we were able to provide for you an excellent and restful stay! I'm glad you liked our clean, comfortable rooms as well as our friendly and helpful staff. We hope you'll make Renaissance your number one hotel choice when visiting Rutherford. We value you as our guest and hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Toni Pinto, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

unfortunately for us we were under the impression that check-in was at 2 and not 3. 2 of the 4 in our party still had to shower and get dressed for a wedding later that day. what was really disappointing was that although we (and most of the other wedding guests) were early, just about everyone else was shown to heir rooms except for us, the only one's who were not already dressed! after some tough talk from one of the ladies in our party, they finally let us into a room that was clean in order for us to get a jump on showering and getting dressed. also to our disappointment, it had to come to tough words, otherwise we were completely ignored and not informed of status. (our room was finally ready well after 3)
at some point later that evening my friend and i wanted some chips, we searched the hotel and after a call to the desk, were informed that they do not have vending machines and that the only place to get munchies was by the front desk and closed. it was not even that late.

so pack up some munchies if you think you might want a late night snack!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rockstarUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
rockstarUSA,
Thank you for writing a review. We're glad you chose to stay at Renaissance while attending a nearby wedding. To the best of our ability, we try to accommodate early check ins if possible. Our housekeeping and inspection schedules are tight however, which means sometimes we are unable to check guests in early. I apologize for this inconvenience and certainly understand your dilemma of needing to get ready for the wedding. We hope your overall stay with us, wedding ceremony, and time with friends and family were enjoyable for you. We welcome you to stay with us again and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Let me just start with saying Thank You to the hotel staff.
I spent 3 days at the hotel when I was over in Rutherford on business and truly enjoyed the stay.
Coincidentally, it just so happened that the Club room (7-9 floors) was the same price as the regular room, so I was able to also get the benefits of the Club.

Service: As I mentioned, the staff was 5+/5
Value: It was a bit pricier that I would expect, but not very expensive 4.7/5
Sleep Quality: Was good enough for me 5/5
Cleanliness: Spotless 5+/5
Location: was very close to the place where I needed to be, so for me it worked out well. A minute of a driving distance (5 minutes walking) there is a gas station, 7Eleven, and a diner. 5/5
Rooms: Normal room, with a TV, hair dryer, regular amenities, free wi-fi 5/5
Spa: there is a gym, pool, and a hot tub, but I used neither of them
Breakfast: If you are at the club, you get a complimentary breakfast (something in between of a continental and an English breakfast). If you are in a regular room, the breakfast is seared in a dining area downstairs (English style) for a change of $14/person. 5/5

Room Tip: I was in a room 921 and liked it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feygin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
mifey,
Thank you, valued guest, for your kind review. We're glad you stayed with us for 3 days and enjoyed your visit. It's great to know you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed our friendly, helpful staff. I'm glad you liked your Club room as well as your complimentary breakfast buffet. We hope your future travels will bring you back to the Rutherford area and you'll come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Overall nice room, comfy beds.
Good breakfast and friendly service.
Downside - the pool did not look inviting as it looked dirty.
You are also right off the highway so it is somewhat noisy.
Towels were not changed on our 2nd day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Melanie L,
Thank you for taking a moment and writing a review about your experience with us at Renaissance Meadowlands. We appreciate your business, and we're glad to have had you as our guest. I'm glad you liked our comfy beds, good breakfast, and friendly service. I apologize for the towels not being replaced and will make sure to mention this to our housekeeping staff. I will also review your comment about our pool. We do daily maintenance on our pool so there should be no reason for it to not look fresh and crisp. I hope you will come and visit us again the next time you visit the Meadowlands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed here for a wedding. Large rooms and nice amenities, pool, and fitness room. One thing to note is that you cannot walk from the Kingsland rail station. At some point the sidewalk ends and you have to either walk in the grass or the side of a busy street or you cut through a construction site and then walk in the grass (with your suitcases). After i made this trek, I checked the Marriott site which says to get off in Rutherford or take the bus. Maybe the rutherford stop has sidewalks, not sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annyong1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
annyong1,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business, and we're glad to have had you as our guest. I'm glad you liked our hotel, and I hope you will come and visit us again. As a side note for our future travelers, if taking the train to Rutherford or Kingsland we recommend taking a taxi to the hotel since either station is a mile and a half away. If taking the bus, we recommend getting off on Polito Avenue which is right at the corner of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel years ago for a family funeral and because of our great experience, it was first to come to our mind when we again needed a place to stay due to a death in the family.

Our family booked two rooms for two evenings. The first room, for my parents was nicely appointed with a king size bed and arm chair while the other room for my husband, daughter and I was HUGE. It offered two queen size beds, sofa and coffee table. There was plenty of space left for a roll away bed as well. Both rooms also offered a very large desk.

The room amenities were nice with a soft duvet, quality fluffy towels, toiletries, including toothpaste and an assortment of pillows. The one detraction from the amenities was the in Mini fridge. It was on the loud side for sure.

We ate three meals at the on site restaurant. The first morning's breakfast was delicious and all 5 dishes were piping hot. Service was spot on. That evening after having had a big lunch we were looking for a bit of a lighter dinner and not wanting to venture off property ventured into the restaurant hoping that we could order something along the lines of soups and appetizers or salads. It was not a problem and the food again was wonderful. My mother and daughter are STILL raving about the scallop appetizer.

Another downside, which could be readily rectified by staff training, was the breakfast which was included with our package. Procedure was not mentioned when we checked in. Luckily I remembered to ask before we retired for the night. The woman at the front desk told me that she would send our room numbers over to the restaurant so they would have them in the morning offering no other details. Upon arriving in the dining room the next morning they had no information but told us to just order what ever we wished off of the menu. At the end of the meal we were presented with the check. We reminded the waiter that it was included with our package. He offered to check with the front desk which he did. When he returned he said it was taken care of. We went through a similar situation the following morning albeit with a different server. I am always a bit leery about these kinds of situations but hoped for the best. Upon check out there were no "surprise" charges on our bill. For the extra $10 per person per night, it was an excellent value.

The disappointment the second morning was that all of our potatoes were ice cold. The server was busy with another table which was a very large party. We were able to grab the attention of the hostess and explained it to her. She said nothing and walked off. Five minutes later she returned with a casserole full of, this time, lukewarm potatoes. Oh well at least we tried. Looking back on it now I have a distinct feeling there were two different cooks in the kitchen these two mornings. The potatoes the first morning were very nicely sauteed and HOT. The second morning, the potatoes were deep fried and cold.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel for its cleanliness, amenities and location. My husband, daughter and I look forward to returning in the future to use the hotel as our home base for visiting New York City.

Room Tip: A room on the east side of the hotel has a view of New York City in the distance, but the hum of tra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arubalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConcordHospitality, Manager at Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Arubalisa,
Thank you for your kind review. We appreciate having you and your family as our guests, and pleased you all enjoyed your stay. I'm glad we have become your place to stay when visiting NYC! We welcome you any time and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Lyndhurst Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton East Rutherford-Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Hilton Meadowlands
Hilton Meadowlands
#4 of 5 in East Rutherford
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Residence Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Carlstadt-At The Meadowlands
1.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn East Rutherford Meadowlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel

Property: Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel
Address: 801 Rutherford Ave, Rutherford, NJ 07070-2576
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Rutherford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the trendy atmosphere at the newly transformed Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel. This hotel in Rutherford is perfectly situated with easy access to Routes 3 & 17 and the NJ Turnpike, and offers complimentary area shuttle service. Dine in whimsical style at our Finch's restaurant and lounge, featuring a farm to table menu and an extensive, award-winning wine selection. Our hotel in the Meadowlands features 167 beautifully appointed, modernized guest rooms and suites. Relax in the indoor pool, whirlpool or fitness center. Our freshly renovated meeting rooms are the perfect choice for gatherings of up to 240 people. We're a quick 6 miles from New York City and close to MetLife Stadium. Drive just 1 mile to the Meadowlands Sports Complex/Meadowlands Racetrack and only minutes to the Prudential Center in Newark. With local experts to help you discover all there is to see and do in the area, we invite you to discover how our hotel in the Meadowlands provides luxury, style, service and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Rutherford
Rutherford Renaissance
Renaissance Meadowlands Hotel Rutherford, NJ, North America

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing