We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Village Gourmet

Village Gourmet
Ranked #25 of 61 Restaurants in Rutherford
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wood RIdge, NJ
Level Contributor
92 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good service. Good Atmosphere (old fashioned emborsed tin ceiling). Good food. Indoor and outdoor seating. Good menu. BYOB. There is an on-site wine store which is a nice convience, but bring your own wine because the wine store is pricey. Rutherford is a nice town to dine in because all the restaurants are BYOB and you can have a pleasant stroll after dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MenschinNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    8
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Level Contributor
302 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“I like to eat here sometimes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

Once in a while we stop there for lunch or dinner. The food is always good. Service is always good too. The restaurant does not have a bar. You can bring BYOB or you can buy wine in a store on the site. I recommend this place.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KrysiaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and friendly staff.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

The food is excellent and the staff is very friendly and service-oriented. Everything was fantastic, although a bit on the oily side. Everything we ordered was exceptionally tasty, but definitely oily --they use a lot of olive oil on their foods. I would certainly recommend this restaurant, but beware of the olive oil.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monicuba23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This restaurant is one of the best in Rutherford.Service and food are both excellent. I had the stir fry chicken,rice and vegetables. This was cooked to perfection with not too much garlic. My daughter informed me that they have $6.99 lunch specials which are awesome. They also own Mignon's steakhouse which is on the same street. They also have good food. Would definitely recommend this restaurant for lunch or dinner. Service is excellent.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank mcintyrefamily46796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, New Jersey
Level Contributor
100 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Used to be much better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

I remembered this place from going there many times years ago and always enjoying the food and the diversity of cuisines offered. Was disappointed in it when recently there. The first impression was the menu, not the selection, but the fact that they were falling apart and looked like they hadn't been replaced in 10 years. The pages were dog-eared and the spiral binder was barely holding it together. They were stained as well. Denny's has nicer menus.
The food was quite bland and the service matched the food. The apps were greasy and lacking flavor. The main course was without any taste and had to be saved by asking the waiter for some soy sauce or such. Also, they had run out of every fish except for swordfish. When I asked if one of the dishes, a basic chicken on top of veggies and rich dish could be substituted with the swordfish, the answer was NO. Really now? You can't cook the veggies and rice and instead of placing chicken on top, you place a grilled fillet of swordfish?? Not very good customer service for a night when over 50% of the table were empty. Now I know why.
Was very disappointed all the way around and will not be going back any time soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MayorMike12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Gourmet also viewed

 
Rutherford, NJ
 

Been to Village Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing