We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to tell everyone!”
Review of The PASS - CLOSED

The PASS
Price range: $30 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Chef and charcutier, Matthew Ridgway, has transformed a rural landmark into a showcase for his vision of french-inspired cuisine, in a setting that's casual by design.
Flemington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Didn't want to tell everyone!”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Have eaten at The Pass 4 times since May;it is unbelievably good. I've had tastes that I couldn't identify that were all wonderful.
It is such a bargain, especially since it is a BYOB.
The portion sizes are perfect; you will leave feeling pleasantly full, even though you had that dessert!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank margandbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Homey unpretentious atmosphere with good food.”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Somewhat local, so we heard about the place, with good reviews, then saw the Zagat and Philly mag reviews, and heard about the JBF "Taste America" dinner& see the chef(Ridgway) was going to be there, we knew we had to go before it got too busy. Everything was good, from the shrimp puffs w/zataar spice to apps, to entrees, of the four desserts, only one miss(Swiss roll w/saffron meringue, way too much saffron.) all the way to the cheese. Atmosphere is comforting and relaxed. Menu changes constantly, and its the kind of mixed fusion cooking we like. BYOB is a plus when u considered the value $38.50 a person is. Thanks Chef. Hope you enjoyed the Free Will Techno IPA.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb.”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you appreciate gourmet cuisine, enchanting combinations of tastes, farm fresh ingredients skillfully prepared, subtle yet complex flavors and textures, this is an epicurean paradise for you. However, if you want to fill up on baskets of bread, enjoy old school and boring cuisine, this may not be the place for you. We love it, go as often as we can and are NEVER, EVER disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great new restaurant - check it out”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Pass restaurant opened 17 weeks ago and was by far one of the highlights of our three day weekend in the Bucks County area. There is only a priced fixed menu, but it's incredibly reasonable at $38 for 3 courses. The food was incredibly creative and delicious. We loved every dish we had, and if the beet soup is on the menu absolutely order it.

The service was friendly and warm, we ended up feeling like we were at someone's house for dinner. Great ambience.

Two notes - restaurant is BYOB and the chef is famous for his charcuterie, which is not on the menu, but you should ask to have it. Delicious meats and pates -- totally worth it if you are a meat-eater.

Don't let people steer you away from this place just because its new and not on the "list" of recommended places yet! Highly highly recommend!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkTravelfiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in an unexpected setting”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Went there for our anniversary with friends for their pre-fixe dinner. The restaurant decor is cute and a bit funky, the menu eclectic and the service excellent. There were 3 courses, with a choice of 4 different items for each. The presentations were very well done, and the portion sizes small but filling.

This night, the appetizers were a little too heavy in aspic (both local heirloom tomato and octopus were jellied), but our entrees of duck and rabbit were very good but small, and the desserts were wonderful.

I'll give them points for presentation, local produce, service, and the menu was interesting, but I think they need to do some "tweeking" before I would up my rating. It was "good" (above average), but has a ways to go before making "excellent".

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D0wnings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The PASS also viewed

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing