We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comforatble stay for one night, although the beds are a little odd”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rockaway
Certificate of Excellence
Stony Brook, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Comforatble stay for one night, although the beds are a little odd”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here one night to participate in 5k race in nearby Ogdensburg. The room was comfortable and clean, although the beds are a little odd. One is supposed to be able to adjust the firmness of the bed by using a dial located under the sheet on the side of the bed. I tried the extremes (all the way soft and all the way firm) and in the middle, but didn’t really notice any difference in how the bed felt. The front desk indicated that it took 10-15 minutes for the bed to adjust to the settings, but I waited that amount of time and still didn’t notice any difference. It’s a good idea but doesn’t seem to work in practice, at least not with their current system. I’ve stayed at Radison hotels where the rooms have Sleep Number beds, and those work extremely well for adjusting the bed’s firmness. I’m guessing the Garden Inn here (I have not experienced these beds at other Garden Inns I have stayed at) took the less-expensive way out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    156
    51
    22
    21
See reviews for
155
86
33
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hart's Location, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
76 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

Hotel is located near a large shopping mall and several place to eat. Check-in was smooth, room was clean and average lighting with enough counter space. Staff was pleasant although I did not have much interaction. Bar situated just off front desk. Small but clean and nice - service was good. Pretty good chicken wings as an appetizer. I had early meeting so I checked out before the comp breakfast. Nicely situated just off highway but signs not as plentiful as expected (bypassed once).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1177Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Spent two nights here as part of a family gathering in the vicinity. The place looks nice, but the walls are paper thin. They cater to weddings, evidently, as there were two wedding parties staying in the hotel when we were there at the end of May. Man, was that place noisy! People seemed to be unconcerned about the late hour when their voices came into the room through the door from the hallway.
We had a block of rooms that were reserved months in advance, but the staff put us on various sides of multiple floors. Sure made us feel UNspecial.
We won't ever go back to the Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway and may avoid taking a chance on the whole chain in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Comfortable, well located right off the highway, and surrounded by restraurants. We stayed prior to a game at Red Bull Stadium, conveniently located just 20 minutes away. The area is quiet and in spite of wedding and parties going on at the hotel, our room was very quiet, too. A plus at this Garden Inn is a free breakfast buffet with made to order eggs, pancakes and waffles.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Don't believe the hype: this is a 3 star hotel at best. Very average. Staff was nice. Bed and pillows were disappointing. Neither was very comfortable. Only one jet worked in the hot tub and it wasn't very hot. Shower was clogged. Bar was not comfortable and part of the lobby. Very tacky.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carpentersville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The staff do not understand how to welcome a customer. They are very naive or ameteurs. There is no any senior staff present at the desk. I've stayed at Hilton Garden Inn at various places. This doesn't even look even half-of the mark I've stayed earlier.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Srinidhi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Hotel Staff was very courteous and helpful. Hotel is especially considerate of Department of Defense employees traveling on official business. Hotel's location is in close proximity to I-80. Hotel parking area is more than adequate and restaurants are close by.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rockaway
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Dover-Rockaway
2.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Denville / Rockaway / Parsippany
4.6 mi away
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
Courtyard Rockaway-Mt. Arlington
#1 of 2 in Mount Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
5.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Parsippany/North
2.3 mi away
Ramada Rockaway
Ramada Rockaway
#2 of 2 in Rockaway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway
Address: 375 Mount Hope Ave, Rockaway, NJ 07866-1645
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Morris County > Rockaway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rockaway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway is conveniently located just minutes from Parsippany, Dover, Morristown and only 35 miles from New York City in Rockaway, New Jersey. Visit our hotel and enjoy a meal at the Great American Grill®, complimentary Wi-Fi, & 4,000 sq. ft. of flexible meeting and banquet space. Whatever the reason for your visit, relax and keep in shape at our fitness center & indoor heated pool. Explore many Rockaway area attractions just steps from our centrally located hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Rockaway Hotel Rockaway
Hilton Rockaway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing