We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe AND Pub”
Review of Madison Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Madison Pub
Ranked #15 of 19 Restaurants in Riverside
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Madison Street & S. Pavilion Avenue
Transit: Riverline runs in front of Cafe Madison.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Cafe AND Pub”
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Can't understand any "confusion", they are both in the same property!

Geography aside, the Cafe Madison is a pretty nice, sophisticated, restaurant. Wd have eaten there quite a few times and the food is, in my opinion at least, very good to excellent.

As it happens, the Madison Pub has pretty good food too. The choices are better than one would find in many "fine dining" establishments!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    7
    4
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bordentown, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We live a few towns down and decided to hop on the Riverline and head to Madison Cafe to use our Restaurant.Com certificate. Towne Tavern and Madison Cafe are separate but in the same bldg. While Towne Tavern has good sandwiches and such, Madison Cafe has a wonderful dinner selection and specials. Upscale but casual at the same time. We enjoyed our trip there and would return. Sever was wonderful too!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JerseyScootergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For a Perfect Evening Come to South Jersey”
Reviewed December 16, 2010

For our "date" my dancing partner suggested Cafe Madison. He guaranteed an unforgettable experience. I asked, "In Phila.?" He said, "No, Riverside as in NJ--the restaurant has fine dining and dancing--we can practice on a real dance floor." How could a sophisticated cafe with A C casino ambiance exist in Riverside? I found out. As we waited bar side for a table, a violin and piano do played softly nearby to settle us in. The wait was worth it. The cuisine was excellent: for a starter, we shared a crab and shrimp appetizer; for entrees, it was bronzini for me and salmon with a shrimp and crab risotto for him--all subtly flavored was well as creatively presented (apparently the chef had worked at one of the A C casinos); for dessert, we eschewed the more complex choices and shared the house-made cheese cake. About 9 p.m. a 3-piece band with vocalist appeared and took over. And did they--keeping a strong beat while playing diverse music from different decades. We sang along with the vocalist and danced until the band was ready for bed. One the way home, Jim held my gloved hand--and sang, "What are you doing New Year's, New Year's Eve?"...A perfect evening.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dariakaritinova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinnaminson
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beware of privacy violations.”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I visited this place for my forty fifth birthday. We had fun for about an hour and a half. Then an incredibly rude and mysogynistic bar regular decided to harass us. Perhaps his mother told him this was the was the way to meet women, I can't be sure. Not only did the management refuse to address the issue they actually disclosed our personal information to this sorry excuse for a man! After we left the man continued to harass us he has not yet stipped. I would never return. If you must go there do not use a credit card, these people cannot be entrusted to safeguard your information. I of course, informed the credit card vendors of the breach. They informed me that they will monitor for ongoing criminal activities.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prettysweet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimcheekoo, Manager at Madison Pub, responded to this review, November 4, 2010
I am the manager and I as well as the staff have no knowledge of this incident and have never been contacted. I am appalled that someone could insinuate criminal activity without substantiating the claim. Our guests privacy is of utmost importance to us. I would appreciate being contacted at 856-764-4444. Diane Bobak Director of Dining Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Madison Pub now called Towne Tavern”
Reviewed June 14, 2009

New name, same menu and prices. Kind of pricy for a local pub, very noisy when moderately crowded. Came for the advertised earlier prime rib nite on Tues, but it was moved to Wed. got the pulled pork sandwich instead, it was lukewarm as were limp fries. Server was great.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Madison Pub also viewed

 

Been to Madison Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing