We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food”
Review of Mado Restaurant

Mado Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 34 Restaurants in River Edge
Price range: $4 - $29
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

first timer.. we actually wanted to go a chinese restaurant next door, and it was closed, and thought of trying Mado.. It was an awesome decision we made. It was such a pleasant experience.. The menu was simple.. lunch special for 13$ is a steal. worth the money.. Wish they had a few more options , like Gyro , but it was a limited menu...

To start with they brought the fluffy bread (not sure what it is called).. it was different.. it tasted really good.. i liked it..

We then had the babagannush as the appetizer.. very tasty made of eggplants.. i thought of ordering hummus, but we always have hummus, and though of trying something new. we then had chicken adana kebab, and lamb shish kebab, and both tasted really awesome.. chicken was nice and tender, but lamb was a lil undercooked, but tasted awesome. loved the rice (was different from the regular rice).. We also had a salad and a drink..

Nice and quick service.. overall a great experience, and we will hopefully comeback soon. Shukran...

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank rajsviewfinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (22)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 22 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

It’s always a pleasure to go to Mado. Sara always takes good care of us and all customers like family. We usually have one of the lunch specials. So much food for just $13.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank tbirdhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2019

Mado's is ideal for a family night out. The Turrkish menu has most of the staple appetizers and kabobs. We ordered many appetizers to share family style and then did the same with the kabobs. The cucumber chopped salad was fresh and refreshing. The fresh baked bread smelled delicious even though I could't eat it because Its not gluten free. The kabobs were ok. Some were better than others. The service was very friendly and quick. Overall we had a great night. It was BYOB and the prices seemed reasonable. I give it my GoldnAdvice seal of approval.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoldnAdvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2019 via mobile

Since moving from Long Island to Oradell NJ, we have been searching for a superior Mediterranean restaurant. We ultimately found Mado, a superb local restaurant in Oradell.

Mado is a charming, welcoming restaurant, within blocks of our home. Mado offers a fabulous combination of Greek, Turkish, and
Armenian cuisines. This restaurant
Is owned and managed by a family
Of skilled hospitality veterans. The evening we visited we met the youthful and welcoming Aret, the managing partner. He helped select an array of amazing dishes for us to sample.

We began our feast with an assortment of exciting appetizers:
-shepherd salad made with fresh tomato’s, Kirby, parsley, onion mixed with lemon, and olive oil sauce.
-Tabbouleh - fine bulger, with parsley, scallions, peppers, tomatoes,mint, olive oil and lemon juice.
- hummus- mashed chickpeas,
Blended with tahini, minced garlic,
Herbs and spices,
-babagannush-smoked eggplant,
Purée, garlic, olive oil, tahini, herbs and spices.
Stuffed mussels, stuffed with rice onion, dill, current raisins, special herbs.
Feta cheese
Each appetizer was beautifully plated and served on porcelain white plates. All delicious!

For Entrees we sampled:
-Calamari- lightly fried calamari with a special chef’s usauce- totally off the chain delicious!
-Felafel-lightly fried ball made from chick peas.
-Adana Kebab- chopped lamb mixed with fresh bell peppers and
Spices. Char grilled! Tasted like more !
- Chicken Adana- chopped chicken mixed with spices.

We were totally delighted and fully
Satiated with this amazing feast and the superior service.
We ended our feast on a sweet note with baklava and a Mediterranean flan type custard!

A 5 star meal with excellent food Service and ambiance !
Highly recommended for dining catering and parties. Kudos to ARET and his family!

Date of visit: January 2019
1  Thank impactbk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018 via mobile

Been for lunch there for lunch about 10 times. Consistently great food just upped my rating from 4 to 5 stars. Sarha takes good care of everyone.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank tbirdhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mado Restaurant also viewed

 
River Edge, NJ
 

Been to Mado Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing