We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Vietnam Warriors Musem Worth Visiting”
Review of Forgotten Warriors

Forgotten Warriors
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Rio Grande
Attraction details
Level Contributor
329 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Unique Vietnam Warriors Musem Worth Visiting”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This museum is located next to the Aviation Museum and both are certainly worth the visit. As a former active Marine, I truly appreciated seeing all of the donated memorabilia from all branches of the service who participated in the Vietnam War. I got to see some items that I had actually used in the field decades ago. This is a special place, especially if you have ever served your country.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jmesis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
418 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 329 helpful votes
“One person's personal collection.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The FW.V.M. is just a short walk from the NAS Wildwood Museum. The complete collection is made of items/exhibits donated by veterans of both the Korean & Vietnam wars. Outside is a collection of weapons and vehicles. These include:
An 8 inch howiter.
A home made six barrel rocket launcher armored vehicle.
Vietnam river rat partol boat.
10 wheel cargo truck & trailer.
Trailer with a diesel generator.
A 10-12 foot high outpost watch tower.

Nearby is memorial in stone to all soldiers fallen in battle from Wildwood, North Wildwood, Wildwood Crest, Ocean City Tuckahoe, Villa, Mayville & Lower Township.

Inside the small museum are a very large number of glass cases. These cases contain photos, lettles, ,weapons, models of aircraft, shipss & armored vehicles, medals, booby traps. On one wall is completely covered with shirts & jackets. The cases are quite detailed.

A visit can be very emotional to any military person, with visit probably lasting 30-40 minutes, if they take the time to view the entire museum. No admission, however donations are appreciated. I was the only visitor at the time. The owner, a Vietnam veteran, will accept any item from Korea & Vietnam.I sent four books that were in the Vietnam era for the museum's future library.

If a visitor checks out the NAS Museum, leave your vehicle in the NAS parking lot, which I did, & walk just 100 yards to the Forgotten Warriors. Probably any veteran from either war will enjoy a visit. I recommand a visit, veteran or not.

Jack L., Syacuse, Nre York.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Visit to show you haven't forgotten”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Lots to see. I was impressed with the fact that much of what you see has been donated by people who were there. It is a very personal experience to these are all real people, not abstractions. The displays also include tribute to those who served ion Koea, during and after the conflict there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank FortPondMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A museum from the heart”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We came across this museum on our way to the Aviation Museum. There was a balance of photos, and personal histories, along with re-creations and actual military equipment, and artifacts brought or sent home from the war. Outside, on the grounds they had military equipment from Viet Nam. There were Veterans on site to answer questions and share their stories. Our 14 year old son was as captivated as we were.The men and women who put this place together were there and want their brothers and sisters to be remembered. There is no greater honor than that. What an impressive place!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildwood, New Jersey
2 reviews
“More than a museum...a tribute to VN and Korean Veterans”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

My husband and I came across the Forgotten Warriors museum as we were leaving the NAS Aviation Museum in Cape May. Although the Aviation Museum was great, it did not move us as did the veterans museum. The collection of artifacts, pictures, etc. is amazing, as is the dedication of the veterans who staff the museum. What is different about this museum is the feeling you get walking through it and speaking with the vets; it's hard to put into words - "inspirational, with a strong sense of honor" comes to mind, but even those words do not do it justice. What is also amazing is that the veterans have donated or bought back the items on display. This museum should be placed in highest regard and publicized so more people can experience it and pay tribute to the VN and Korean veterans. I should have said this to the veterans when I visited - Thank you for your service; you are not forgotten.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Forgotten Warriors also viewed

 

Been to Forgotten Warriors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing