We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Castle at Skylands Manor
Nearby Hotels
$140
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah(Mahwah)(Great Value!)
$108
$98
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$146
$130
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites(Mahwah)(Great Value!)
$132
$103
ComfortSuites
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$114
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveler rating
56
47
19
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
47
19
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbotanical gardensskylands manorhot waterbagelsnj stateown bathroomparking lot isbeautiful propertybought a grouponwedding venuewonderful staygatsby roomleaded glass windowsskylarkmargiehallwaycons
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 148 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My husband and I stayed here on a Saturday evening in April. The room was lovely (Gatsby) as were the grounds, but that was not enough to charge $250 a night (low season).

The Innkeeper greeted us and showed us around, but after that he was nowhere to be found. He said he would set up a dinner table for us that evening since we ordered in, but all he did was hand us two very dirty wine glasses and walk away. No cutlery, no plates. There was no hot water that evening and again the next morning (we let it run a good 5 minutes). We were told that breakfast was served between 8-10am but when we went downstairs at 9:15am for breakfast and to ask about the water, the Innkeeper again was gone. We waited 30 minutes and decided to leave, shower-less, and hit up a diner on our way home.

On Saturday we saw a wedding coordinator showing several couples around. Weddings are clearly their big money maker, they don't care about their weekend patrons. If that's the case, the cost per night should reflect this. Save your money or spend a little more and go somewhere with warm water and a warm breakfast! Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Gatsby room was great.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Natasha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Skylands for two nights to attend my friends wedding. We were the only guest there the first night and Dave treated us like family. Dave is the head care taker at Skylands. The breakfast was delicious in the mornings.Our room was cozy and clean. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone.

Room Tip: select a room that has the bathroom attached.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ari L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed two days at the Castle in March 2014. We stayed in the Gatsby room on the 2nd floor on the North end of the castle. The view was lovely and the room was spacious. At first we were a little cool but the heat was turned up and that solved the problem. They did have a hot water problem and apparently the heater burst or some such problem so on one morning there was no hot water. The woman who checked us in, was a bit cool, seemed involved in some other work and gave us no information. 30 minutes later we went back and asked questions which were answered. David seems to be the only person who really knows about the Castle. He was extremely helpful and doubled as the cook for breakfast. The grounds were beautiful and we enjoyed driving around.

Room Tip: 2nd floor on the North end.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapitalTraveler915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here with my husband in March with a groupon. The property is beautiful, castle is massive but not a whole lot to do. Our room was nice and the bathroom was also pretty. Had no problems with the heat or hot water but the breakfast was disappointing. I expected breakfast to be sit down and more made to order, not a buffet with just eggs, sausage and boxed pastries.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here sep. 23rd 2013. We were moved to the "nicest room" we were told...being that we were just married. We honestly didn't expect it. Amazing simply amazing! Between the breath taking architecture and the gardens that you could be lost in easily it was incredible! We were told it was the slow season...only one other couple was there. We no lie got lost....we wonder into what appeared to be a wine seller? The hotel staff(really just a few people) seemed to encourage our adventures lol. Friendly folks....served us drinks in the middle the night and we woke up to a great breakfast buffet eggs bacon sausage pancakes coffee O.J and so on! It's worth the money.

Stayed: September 2013
1  Thank Kap1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews