We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Meal at Due”
Review of Due

Due
Ranked #61 of 131 Restaurants in Ridgewood
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Due restaurant is located in the heart of downtown Ridgewood on the corner of East Ridgewood Ave and Broad Street, steps away from New Jersey Transit's Ridgewood Rail Station. Executive Award Winning Chef Adam Weiss and Owner Chris Tarta deliver modern, seasonal, eclectic American cuisine with freshly prepared dishes from the wood-fired grill using local ingredients with a focus on flavors, textures, and plating with a modern twist. We offer the perfect casually elegant ambiance, setting, and accommodations for private dining as well as outdoor dining. Due encourages guests to bring their own wine to compliment their meals.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible Meal at Due”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My husband and I have been anxious to try Due since they opened as it sounded like a very promising restaurant. We have tried for weeks to get in and finally got to go last night (Friday). First, the decor of the restaurant is completely unremarkable. It was also incredibly smoky inside due to the wood burning grill. When I say smoky, I mean that there was a legitimate cloud of smoke throughout the entire restaurant. The floors are checkered, the tables and chairs look cheap - not at all what I expected. And the noise! It was SO loud, we could barely hear each other at all. We were willing to overlook all of this if the food was what we were hoping for. Unfortunately, it wasn't. The food was TERRIBLE. We got the crabcake special as an appetizer which was probably the most decent we had all night. They were nothing to write home about but at least they were edible. We also go the "Drunken Mussels" due to the waiters suggestion - probably the worst mussels we have ever eaten. They were tasteless - not seasoned at all...it was almost as if they just steamed them and put them in a bowl - awful. My husband got the swordfish special and he couldn't even eat it. He loves swordfish and said that this was "the worst meal he's ever had." It was completely overcooked - so dry you could barely chew it. I got the grilled octopus which came over some beans - it was edible but nothing I would ever order again. We spent about $100 on an abominable meal...definitely will not be returning. Sad because we had had such high hopes!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Due, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello. We are disappointed to hear that you were not satisfied with your visit! We apologize for the smoke that you came from the wood burning grill but this most times is very minimal and gives us an authentic atmosphere. We have acoustic baffling tiles coming they are just behind schedule, these will really help with all the noise you experienced! We would like to the opportunity to remedy your previous visit and have you try us again! We are truly dedicated to friendly attentive service and preparing delicious meals for our guests to enjoy! Again, we apologize for the food you received on your previous visit but we prepare high quality meals and we would love to prove that to you! We hope to see you again soon! Best, Chris Tarta (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    20
    11
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montvale NJ
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go early to enjoy a good meal”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We were a group of 5 women who wanted to catch up over a delicious dinner on a weekday. We got to the restaurant before 6 and found there was no host to direct us. Our waiter seated us and was very attentive...at first. The restaurant has outdoor tables and his running between the two took its toll once the restaurant filled up. The waiters were constantly stopped in their tracks by new arrivals. He did apologize for the gaps of attention but I think the problem was a lack of staff not a lack of effort. The decor is nothing special and the chairs are of the stacking variety...sleek looking but not good for lingering.
We ordered the popular fig appetizer that the chef graciously made large enough for all to share. The fig is split and wrapped in a slice of bacon with a dollop of gorgonzola cheese that is then drizzled with a balsamic sauce. Unfortunately, the taste of the bacon (delicious) seems to overwhelm all the other flavors. A large-portion Caesar salad (without the anchovies) was very good: crispy and fresh with just the right amount of dressing & croutons. The diners were split on their opinions of dinner. Two of us had the grilled salmon with roasted vegetables. One thought it was fine and the other found it too dry (mustard seed sauce was on the side). Another had a chicken dish that she also felt was overcooked but enjoyed the flavor. Two of us had the ravioli stuffed with short ribs in a brown sauce. It was fantastic! The pasta was cooked perfectly with just the right proportion of meat. The sauce was delicious and the raviolis were not "drowning" in it. Yummy! Due to the slowing service, we didn't stick around for dessert. I feel the prices were reasonable for the quality of the food and the Ridgewood location. Yes, I would go back to try several other tasty sounding items on the menu. However, I would definitely go early and expect to have a bit of a wait between courses.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JerseyHollyGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Due, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello. We would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review! We are dedicated to providing excellent service to our guests and we always want to be very attentive. We do usually have a host, or a server, dedicated to handling the front door. Due to some staff "corrections" this past week we were a little short handed with servers. We are happy to see how much you all enjoyed your meals. We apologize that you did not want to stick around for dessert but maybe next time you will sample our delicious dessert menu. We look forward to having you back to try some of our other tasty menu items! Best, Chris Tarta (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Try the specials”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Thursday night, excellent service, shared two appetizers, stuffed hot peppers, and calamari with grapes. Both were imaginative with great taste. The long stuffed hot peppers were not so hot that my wife and guest couldn't come back for another piece. The calamari was fresh,tender and delicious. Our entres of veal, and cioppino were excellent. The restaurant was almost full, yet we had no problem with the service or the acoustics. We'll be back. John & Carol

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Due, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
We are glad to see you enjoyed your experience John and Carol! We always deliver top notch service to our guests because we want you to have an enjoyable dining experience. We love to prepare our freshly made delicious menu for guests to enjoy! We are excited to have you back to explore some of the other options we offer as well. Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review and we look forward to seeing you soon. Best, Chris Tarta (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere was so loud for a Wednesday night we had to huddle over the table to converse.
There was only one waiter for the whole restuarant. Service was slow and the didnt bring any our dishes out together.
We had 4 apps, 2 pastas, and 4 entres.
The calamari and mussels sambuca were good.not great. The pasta and all 4 entrees were terrible. The hanger steak, pork chop, scallops and taglettalli.
I will not return

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Due, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello Nicole! We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit here at Due. We are fully aware of the sound issue, and we have acoustic, sound absorbing tiles on the way to us to help muffle the ambient sound in the room. The dining room was also at full capacity on Wednesday evening. As for the food, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your choices. Those are a few of the most popular items on the menu and we got a lot of compliments on those items, so I am sorry that you did not enjoy them. If you would like to speak with me further about your experience your feedback is definitely welcomed as we are always looking for ways to improve and exceed all of our guests expectations. We hope that you will give us the chance to remedy the situation in the future!

Best, Chris Tarta (Owner)
tarta113@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale, New Jersey
1 review
“due restaurant ridgewood, n.j.”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Wonderful and charming little restaurant with a great menu and fabulous food...The chef and staff are more than accomodating. We enjoyed our experience there immensely and look forward to returning shortly. Loved it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nancy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris T, Owner at Due, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hello Nancy! We appreciate you taking the time to leave use a review. Your kind words and support mean a lot to us. We always want our guests to be happy and we are dedicated to providing not only friendly service but delicious food as well! We look forward to your return as well. Thanks again. Best, Chris Tarta (Owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Due also viewed

 
Ridgewood, NJ
 

Been to Due? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing