We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch spot ”
Review of Kumo

Kumo
Order Online
Delivery.com
Ranked #41 of 142 Restaurants in Ridgewood
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed November 26, 2018 via mobile

The sushi was delicious and a great lunch deal. My daughter ordered the “fried shrimp” and it was a generous portion. All came with a salad and a soup. We all left stuffed and the bill was about $10 a person.
Great spot. We will come back.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Linz0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 20 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2017

Ridgewood has a lot of sushi places and this is another decent one. The food and service are pretty good, but the price is definitely higher than some of the other ones on the same level. Overall, it's a good sushi place, but more expensive than the competition right around the corner.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Inka335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2016 via mobile

Sakura Bana has been on the go to sushi restaurant in Ridgewood for many years, and still is a major contender. Kumo, however has joined that exalted company, and I can see why.

The luncheon salad was very fresh and the dressing delicate and flavorful.

The miso soup had generous amounts of seaweed and tofu, and had no appreciable salt -- my strong preference since you can always add salt.

Seafood dim sum came with a very delicate doughy cover and with very fresh and delicious fillings. The sauce had very attractive citrus and ginger notes, beautifully enhancing the dough.

The vegetable tempura had a very pleasing crust with the sauce perfectly enhancing its mild flavor.

In my only down note, it appeared that all of the tempura been fried for equal amounts of time so that the softer vegetables were overdone. The sweet potato and broccoli, however, were perfect.

Service was very attentive and perhaps even a little bit too quick to provide adequate time between courses.

Cleanliness was very good, including the spotless men's room.

The decoration of this restaurant is really quite spectacular with soft browns, oranges and grays, set off by an off white ceiling.

It will be fun to return and try again.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank robcurtross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2016

There are many subtle things a good sushi restaurant does to make it great. Kumo is one of them. Everything we tried, from appetizers to special rolls, to the sushi deluxe plate for two was superb. Went with my 2 kids to celebrate their birthdays. My daughter loves salmon sushi and all though not on the menu they created a plate of various salmon sushi and sashimi rolls and pieces. We tried their duck rolls, their "salmon flowers" their sweet and crispy shrimp apps. Everything was fresh fresh fresh and tasty. the presentation was all out with every dish they brought to our table. the service was fantastic.. the waitress must have over heard we were celebrating the kids birthday as when dinner was done and we requested the check they brought us an amazing fried ice cream and desert with all kinds of sweet and crunchy touches AND a candle in it and a verse of happy birthday....

Super fresh food, beautiful presentation, very attentive service and fairly reasonable prices will get us to journey back here again any time we are in the mood for sushi.. We went 4pm on a Sunday and it was not to busy, but as we left around 5:30 the joint started jumping.. It is BYOB =. We will be back.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank augustwest73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

Perfect service so so attentive food just amazing and the gyoza just wow love it miso soup very very tasty I love this place since 3 years ago that I found it
Thanks kumo for give a great dinner

Date of visit: December 2015
Thank jgrdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kumo also viewed

 
Ridgewood, NJ
 

Been to Kumo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing