We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food -really bad service!”
Review of Natalie's Restaurant - CLOSED

Natalie's Restaurant
Price range: $20 - $40
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Rochelle Park
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good food -really bad service!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This was our second time at Natalie's. The first time we went the food was great and the service was okay too. So we went again this past weekend and were very disappointed with the service. They sat us quickly but then I think they forgot we were there. Our reservation was for 7pm and I don't think we spoke to the waiter until about 8pm. And that was after we called im over. Seemed like he didn't know he had our table even though we were in the section he was serving. We waited a long time for our food, having to ask the waiter several times when it would be done. The restaurent was busy and either they didn't have enough waiters or maybe not enough kitchen help. We did enjoy the our dinner but didn't stay for desert because we did not want to wait again. It was already near 10pm by then.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    20
    16
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, NJ
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Unimpressed”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I went to have lunch with my girlfriend on a busy Saturday afternoon. Natalie's was hosting a bridal or baby shower it looked like in their other room. We ended up standing at the host stand for about 5 minutes and no one came over. We eventually just sat ourselves down.

The service was absolutely horrendous, in every single way. We had to flag down someone to take our order, bring us drinks, and even check up on our food (which took almost 45 minutes). I got a veggie burger, which wasn't terrible, but in general pretty lack luster. I had to ask for ketchup and by the time it came my food was cold.

We also saw an irate customer towards the end of our meal. I guess he was ordering take out and had to wait forever and in the end just stormed out.

They also started vacuuming in the restaurant while we were still eating. It was pretty terrible. Don't go here.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OliveOil0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
Level Contributor
90 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Food was great, service lacking”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Although the food was great we were waiting quite a bit for our food!! Also we would have thought an occasional " How is everything?" from the wait staff would be in order.. A little pricey, compared to the service value. The restaurant was not over packed, so there was not the excuse of wait staff to customer ratio.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bblancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Mundane all way round”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Very mundane menu. My husband ordered a steak sandwich and it was served on a plate with no garnish. Just a sandwich on a plate. I ordered a tuna melt and it was good but pricey for 10.00. The other odd thing was that my husband had soup (mushroom barley - $6.00) and you get a bowl of soup, the spoon in the bowl with no service plate or cracker. The whole thing was just strange. In general, customers prefer a service plate so the server hands and fingers are not on the dish that you eat from surfaces. not impressed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food terrible service”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The restaurant has an interesting menu, but suffers from slow service andortions that carry entre prices but are skimpy and look more like appetizers. There are better options in Ridgewood for what a dinner for two will cost.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jsbdlb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natalie's Restaurant also viewed

Ridgewood, NJ
Ridgewood, NJ
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing