We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed again, always impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgefield Park
Certificate of Excellence
Hudson Valley
Level Contributor
167 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Stayed again, always impressed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

I reviewed earlier this year for a short stay. Stayed more over the past 2 weeks. It continues to be a excellent property. I took advantage of the free breakfast as a Hilton Honors Gold member. The staff there is very friendly, the chef makes excellent on demand omlettes and pancakes. A good variety of cut up fruits, eggs, sausage, bacon, make your own waffles, and juices.

One impressive thing I wanted to update my review with. Much of the area was hard hit my a 'freak' snow storm that left many areas without power. So, the hotel was over run with area residents seeking power and rooms. The breakfast area was swamped. However, the hotel staff did am amazing job of keeping everfything flowing, food stocked, tables cleared. It was an 'all hands on deck'. The maintenance/building engineering crew was on hand in the breakfast and helping deliverv the omlettes, clearing tables.. I was very impressed!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HudsonValleyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghayward, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Always nice to hear from a happy guest and a repeat one at that!! I appreciate your staying with us again and especially appreciate your feedback considering the circumstances that made up that weekend. As often happens, a hotel can be a source of shelter for those in need and we were fortunate to have the power to do so. With that said, the challenges of that weekend were not lost on our operation. It was as you said, an "all hands on deck" weekend that certainly tested our team.
For the most part we were able to handle the influx, but again, I appreciate your mentioning those efforts. I will share your comments with the team.
Thank you again!
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    142
    56
    31
    22
See reviews for
205
95
29
184
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I had recently stayed at Hilton in this particular location.
Very comfortable, nice and tidy.

Facility has all the necessary things including Free Wi-Fi in the room, Gym, and laundary room on the site.

The location may seemed little outskirt, however, conveniently located off the highway with little confusing in and outs.

I would recommend to stay again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichDawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghayward, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! You're right, we are a bit off of the beaten path but believe that we are worth the trip. Sounds like you agree and that's great to hear!!
Thank you for staying with us and hope that you visit us again soon.
Thank you,
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

Very nice hotel. It was not perfect but I won't complain. The highway exit ramp is very tricky. I missed it the first time coming in at night but the following days I got the hang of it. Some towels had black "grease looking like" stains on them, it's my only complain. The breakfast was good. Get it as part of your stay to save time when visiting Manhattan. The pastries and croisents were not fresh but the made to order eggs and omlettes were perfect. Parking is plentiful. There's not much around the hotel except for Samsung and a cinema complex. It's a good base if you are visiting Manhatten. The wireless internet is amazing. Excellent wireless signal in my room. No need to plug in.

Room Tip: Add the breakfast option to save time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berto2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghayward, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments! I have to agree with you...getting to us can be a challenge at times but I hope that you would agree with me when I say...it's worth the trip!. New Jersey has a reputation of being a tough state to drive in and getting to us does nothing to change that perception.
Now that you're an expert on finding us I hope that you will stay with us again should you be in our area.
Thank you again!
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherrill, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

Booked, received confirmation and paid in advance for a 2 Queen Room for 2 couples (daughters and spouses) a week ahead of time and personally checked in the day before with assurances that the room would be available. The morning of check-in was told that they would let me know as soon as a room was cleaned for early arrival before a day in NYC. Was called later and told no rooms, as reserved were available. Eventually offered a king room and rollaways (at midnight). Left and drove home without staying. No apology and took a significant period of time and numerous contacts to get a refund. Tried to contact manager directly, who seems to comment only on positive reviews or to make excuses, but was not able to get past the front desk person who answered the phone. Fortunately, Hilton Corporate did respond to my complaint and "comped" me a room at another Garden Inn. Per reviews, this seems to be common at this hotel (which is very nice by the way), where they book and confirm a specific type of room, then try to stick the customer with something less - note: guest who ended up sleeping on the floor. Not me !!!

Room Tip: not sure what to say, as they promise what you want and then try to give you something less
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghayward, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
I was dissappointed to read about your experience with us. We pride ourselves on providing a clean, friendly environment and clearly we failed to meet that minimum expectation and for that I do apologize.
We do our best to meet every guest request but unfortunately there are times that we are unable to. With that said, when we are unable to meet a request we clearly need to do a better good of communicating that and providing solutions if available.
I would be happy to discuss your experience with you at your convenience. I can be reached by phone at 201-641-2024 or via email at mhayward@hgiridgefieldpark.com.
I appreciate your feedback and hope that despite your past experience you might give us another opportuntiy to change your opinion of us.
Thank you
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here on the first leg of our trip across eastern US. The hotel was new and didn't properly show in Google's satellite images, but I expected the place to be just like all the other HGI properties I've been to in the past. And sure enough, the room was a spitting image of one I stayed in California a year earlier -- and naturally everything in the room was very new.

Once you find yourself to Ridgefield the hotel is easy to locate, but it took us few tries to find the right exit. The hotel is surrounded by office buildings and parking is ample, so there isn't much to see in the area. This wasn't just a negative, as the area was really quiet and felt safe in the evenings -- something that seemed to be a problem with every other hotel I was considering alongside this one.

There is one movie theater which we didn't go to. The newly renovated Overpeck playground/park was within short distance, something that our family liked. It takes a bit more driving to get to the nearest malls and fast-food places so you do need a car or prepare to eat whatever they have at the hotel. Going to NYC we left our car and took the bus, which came on time and left us at the central station. Getting back from the city was just as easy so we didn't feel like we missed out by not staying near a PATH station or in the city.

The overall hotel experience was good and everything "just worked". Hilton Garden Inn hotels aren't executive class hotels in my opinion, just good upper-middle class, but all the more better because that meant the pool, gym, parking and wi-fi were complimentary. Our stay also included the breakfast, which turned out to be the best part of our stay.

Breakfast area had everything you could wish for from yogurts, juices, cereals to hot items like omelette's prepared by a chef. Service was excellent and the staff was really helpful in setting up the table for us and small children.

Overall for the price this is probably the best place to stay in the area. I would go so far as to say that if you have a layover of more than one night, drive the extra 30 minutes away from Newark and stay here instead of the airport hotels.

Room Tip: As far as I know, the views from any of the rooms aren't better than the others. We were facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghayward, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
You're right...we are a "quiet gem." Close enough to th emajor highways that it makes getting to us convenient yet far enough to provide some traquility...the best of both worlds. The New Jersey Transit bus into NYC makes that trip quick and easy and the New Overpeck Park is really starting to come into its own. There are concerts and events throughout the spring, summer, and fall months which only add to its allure.
I appreciate your mentioning the breakfast staff and the quality of the breakfast experience. We pride oursleves on that experience and I'm glad to see you enjoyed it.
Please come and stay with us again if you get the chance. There's nothing quite like NYC in winter...
Thank you for your comments!
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here this week during our trip to NYC. We were initially given a "smoking" room as we were told that was all that was available :( When we got to the room, the smoke scent was extremely strong so we called the front desk who said that they would send someone up right away. A lady from housekeeping came in no time and sprayed some neutralizer of some sort; however, because we knew this was only a temporary fix we went to the front desk and asked about changing the room again. This time we were accommodated, but both times the staff were really friendly and helpful. Room was clean and spacious. The bed was SUPER comfortable :)

The great thing is that there is a bus stop right outside the hotel and the NJ transit takes you to the Port Authority hotel in NYC. (Tip: Ask the front desk for the bus schedule) In less than 20 minutes we were in the city.

We woulddefinitely stay here again if we were going back to NYC!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank absolut242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghayward, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
I apologize for the issue with being assigned a smoking room. Unfortunately there are times where we are not able to meet every guests request although we try to make sure that we do.
It was good to read that the issue was resolved and from that point on your stay with us was a good one. Also nice to see that you enjoyed your nights sleep on our Garden Sleep System (GSS). Those beds are great right?!
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and the world and I hope that you stay with us again soon.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, MD
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Stayed here on a recent trip to NYC. Hotel was very clean, and easy to get to from the highway. The bed was very comfortable. If you want to go into the city, the best part about this hotel is that the NJ Transit bus comes right outside the door and drops you off at the Port Authority. The hotel staff provided me with a bus schedule that made it so easy to get back and forth. I'd stay here again. Much cheaper and roomier compared to a hotel in the city.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YDM425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mghayward, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
That's awesome to hear! Anytime that I can get feedback that says "Excellent"...I'll take it!
I appreciate your sharing your feedback with the world. We pride ourselves on providing great service and a great product and it sounds like that we accomplished.
Thank you for your feedback and I hope that will join us again.
Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ridgefield Park
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
Hampton Inn Ridgefield Park
#2 of 2 in Ridgefield Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Fort Lee - George Washington Bridge
3.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Edgewater - NYC Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Teaneck Marriott at Glenpointe
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Paramus
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Englewood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park
Address: 70 Challenger Rd, Ridgefield Park, NJ 07660-2116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ridgefield Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ridgefield Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the brand new Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park located directly off of I-95 (New Jersey Turnpike) at exit 68. We are close to the places where you need to be - New York City is 5 miles away, the meadowlands, shopping, and catering halls. When you’re in town for a meeting, wedding or any special occasion, look no further stay with us, and let us exceed your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ridgefield Park Hotel Ridgefield Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing