We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Restaurant with Good Food - BYO”
Review of Dish

Dish
Reserve with OpenTable
Dish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 140 Restaurants in Red Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
314 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cozy Restaurant with Good Food - BYO”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We were there on a Thursday evening. Service was good and so was the food. Convenient location to walk to Count Basie for an evening show.
Be sure to try the Short Rib main Dish - delicious!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieBG7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    40
    18
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
419 reviews
371 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Small, noisy, but ooh what food!”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Wasn't where I was going last night but most of Red Bank lost power so was sent there because they had power. What a break! This place is great!! Good service and BYOB. You must try the crispy spinach appetizer so unusual and delicious. The mussels appy also delish. We had the steak au poivre and the double pork chop, both excellent!! Saw the chef later at another stop and told him how much we enjoyed everything and that we would be back soon! Try it, you won't regret it!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sirena1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Ridge Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Busy little place”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Hidden on a side street in downtown RedBank this byo is always full, and they don't take reservations so its pot luck weather you get in or not. The food is consistantly good, they have the usual , a good roast chicken, a beef short rib, fish, and always a pasta dish. The service staff are real good, helpful and knowledgeable. I would recommend this place except for the fact that you may show up with your group, hungry as hell, and have to wait outside in the cold (or heat) for an hour or so for a table.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank LISAnACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Noisy and slow service”
Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

Fish was good, but not great. Had to wait a long time to get served and had to ask three times for the check. So noisy that you can't carry on a conversation.

Helpful?
Thank DiveNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food, Great Service and Excellent Value in the Heart of Red Bank, NJ”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Chef Anthony (formerly Rao's NYC) and co-owner Judy have created a smashing success here. This BYO on White St. in the heart of Red Bank, offers larger portions of delicious specialties. On Tuesday and Wednesday nights the 3 course $25 prix fixe cannot be beat. I started with the red bean soup with rice and chorrizo followed by a roasted free-range chicken with root vegetables and frizzled onions on top. My wife began with wonderul fresh mussels and then the double-cut pork chops with pureed sweet mashed potatoes. All desserts are made on premises; everything from choclate bread budding with caramel sauce to scrumpcious lemon cake with home-made ice cream. I review a lot and recommend this place very highly!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing