We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one the best”
Review of Nicholas

Nicholas
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicholas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 139 Restaurants in Red Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bt. Navesink River Rd & Pine Street
Transit: Red Bank train station
Rumson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“one the best”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nicholas moved into the area replacing a casual tex-mex place many years ago, and has stood the test of time as one of the best restaurants in the area. Refined and expensive, different menu options are available. Some of the best include wine pairing. At times of the year, Nicholas offers special dining events, which are always superb! FYI, the mailing address is Red Bank and Nicholas is actually located on Rt 35 South in Middletown, across the bridge from Red Bank and removed from its downtown. If in town, its so worth a 2 minute car ride.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    33
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“best restaurant in NJ”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

there is nothing not to like here. the wine selections are outstanding.......the food is exceptional

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Service, Skimpy Portions”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Nicholas was an excellent dining experience. The food was excellent. I had a rack of lamb off the bone which was tender and tasty and my wife had the halibut which too was flavorful. The service was outstanding. Water glasses were filled on a timely basis and the waiter timed our meal perfectly which meant we weren't rushed but also didn't feel like we were lounging around. The only criticism was that, other than the cheese option for dessert, there wasn't enough of the food. We ordered al a carte and the lamb came only with two pieces and neither dish came with any sides of substance. But if your looking for high quality cuisine, this is a place for you.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wlnichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Very Special Place for Grownups”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Went for an early Mother's Day and Anniversary celebration. It is such a pleasure to actually DINE not just eat out! This is a special occasion restaurant that makes you feel very special. And the ambiance is so pleasant that you can actually talk to your dinner guests, understand everything the waiter tells you about your selections without leaning in to be heard and luxuriate over an outstanding meal. I always leave feeling comfortably full and totally enjoy eating every morsel of all three courses.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BwayDresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neptune, NJ
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stellar food, fabulous service. My husband and I return here again and again for special occasions. The chefs are beyond creative...I never fail to be impressed. Dishes are always unique, and there is always something new (sometimes daring) to try. It's expensive, but if you can swing it, try the tasting menu.

Nicholas is Foodie heaven, so if you consider yourself one, do not miss dinner here. (If you don't, and your most important quality in a restaurant is large portions...this may not be the place for you.) But if you love delicious, creative food, you're going to love, and I mean LOVE Nicholas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morningdove225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicholas also viewed

 
Red Bank, NJ
 

Been to Nicholas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing