We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Foie!”
Review of Nicholas

Nicholas
Reserve with OpenTable
Nicholas is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 141 Restaurants in Red Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bt. Navesink River Rd & Pine Street
Transit: Red Bank train station
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Incredible Foie!”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Sorry to have had to give just three stars here. A couple of dishes were truly exceptional, but many were uninspired and imbalanced. The two shining moments for me were the soft shell crab (about the best I've ever had) and the foie gras. So maybe stop in for a couple of apps at the bar if you're in RB, but with so many truly exceptional restaurants in NYC, make the trip.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lv2trvl714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    33
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perrineville, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere for special occasion”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

This was our second time at Nicolas celebrating our anniversary. The food is wonderful and very nice atmosphere. Some of the best lobster cooked to perfection. Can't go wrong celebrating a special occasion here. The banana cake and chocolates that they give you as you depart let you enjoy the experience just a while longer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debnjusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sheer perfection!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had the pleasure of celebrating our wedding anniversary here and it was fabulous as always. It had been a while since our last visit but it was as wonderful as we remembered it to be.

We dined in the main dining area (as opposed to the less formal bar area) and experienced impeccable service. The Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairing was pricey ($135 pp) but truly a memorable treat. The homemade box of chocolates to take home were the perfect end to the evening. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

French cuisine, tiny portions full of flavor. Very pricey, was nice to experience and so thoughtful of my love. Fabulous desert to remember & take home!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1JerseyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable Dining Experience”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Amazing food and presentation. Purportedly one of the eight best restaurants in the country. We spent $250 with tip and felt like it was a good value.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rosedale38969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nicholas also viewed

 

Been to Nicholas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing