We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Italian for Above Average $$$”

Buona Sera Ristorante & Bar
Ranked #9 of 140 Restaurants in Red Bank
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
173 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average Italian for Above Average $$$”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a big family dinner at Buona Sera last night. A good time was had by all. Service was prompt and pleasant and the food and drinks flowed freely. Appetizer trays, salad and copious portions were served in a timely fashion. Why, then, the 3 stars? Because of the great disconnect between the atmosphere (nice), pricing (high) and quality of food (average/below average). I tasted egg plant parm (overly breaded to the point where the egg plant was lost), veal saltimbocca (bland/insipid - i didn't think that was possible when combining veal, prosciutto and mozzarella), fried calimari (dried cardboard) and others with similar outcomes. The tuna, encrusted in sesame seeds and breadcrumbs, had great potential but was served cold (yes, the crusted exterior came cold). The sauce/gravy was tasty as was the spaghetti.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SebGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    91
    52
    39
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nutley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Love the FLAME”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

What a great time.. Flame made the night a success. Her personality was superb! Decorated for Christmas to the nines!!!!! Might go back for our Christmas party! Valet parking added bonus.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank curbappeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible turkey day”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

In 2011 our family had Thanksgiving dinner at Buona Serra .The main courses,pastries,and service was outstanding. What happenned? This year there was less variety,food was average,service stunk and the pastry was horrible.Not what I expected from Buona Sera.


Juniorod,

Red Bank NJ

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juniorrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincroft, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Used to giving this place a huge thumbs up, sorry, not this time :(”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I had been looking forward to spending Thanksgiving at Buona Sera for eight weeks. My kids are grown and as regular customers, it seemed like a great idea to book this place for a party of eight. Wrong! While visiting a few days before the holiday, I asked a favorite waiter where the buffet would be held. He said upstairs, which was great! Lots of holiday atmosphere, nice natural lighting, comfy round tables, etc. So as we entered, we were quickly ushered to a lower bar area that is ultra casual, dark and dank looking. No votives on the rectangular table in the furthest corner of this room. Within 10 inches of the table were extra chairs stacked in a tower, an eyesore and not too festive. The buffet table was located in the center of the room in a square formation. So, number 1, the table/location was unappealing. Next, to the food. Everything, with the exception of the raw bar, was cooked 'well in advance' and was either mushy/soft or ultra dry from standing. As I am accustomed to the food being very good, I almost felt like the chef/management had gone elsewhere to bring in this food from a local diner. Turkey cleaned out of its platter except for scraps, stuffing too hard to chew and oversalted eggplant rollatine. The raw bar was passable, aside from the shrimp that were medium sized, undercooked and not cold enough. To top this off, salad/dessert plates were offered instead of an 11" standand dinner/buffet plate, so it was almost impossible to get more than two ounces of anything on the plate. My 86 yr old mom with arthritic knees had to limp up and down to the food table.... just not acceptable. The pies offered for dessert looked like Sara Lee and since I am used to shopping locally for pies/cakes/pastries, it was apparent the establishement was looking for cheap dessert alternatives and so were far from appetizing. We had to flag down the waiter to get anything more than water, and the coffee was served up sparingly with no offer of a second cup. Instead of conversing and catching up with my family as I had hoped to do, the overall experience just made me want to skip the small talk and go home. With a bill for $500, this day was a shame thanks to Buona Sera of Red Bank, New Jersey.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very disappointed”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

start by saying the bread was better than my dinner . which was tuna ,ended up coming out cold and raw . server was very polite but service was slow .they need to hire more help. and don't think of desert we waited a half hr for the moose cake only to be told they didn't have any cake left...my recommendation go to kfc and stay home!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank louis p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buona Sera Ristorante & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Buona Sera Ristorante & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing