We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good”
Review of Char Steak House

Char Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Char Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 158 Restaurants in Red Bank
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed August 1, 2018

Tried Char with a gift card we received and sat at the bar. We were surprisingly satisfied overall with the service, food, and energy. Although we did not have steaks, the seafood tower had generous amounts of succulent shellfish and the burger was as good as any burger in Monmouth county. Bar staff was friendly and the bar was filled with regular locals. Definitely on the return list.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johncc776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 215 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2018 via mobile

We opted for the Price Fixe with Ceasar Salad, Petite Filet with Bordelaise sauce, mashed, roasted garlic, and Broccoli, and dessert. Excellent food and service, but quite noisy. Will try again.

Date of visit: July 2018
1  Thank X7844NMjoed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

I've been to the Raritan location many times and it's always amazing. We decided to go to Red Bank and the food was ok. The staff was very nice and it's beautifully decorated. The steak was great, the chicken was dry and the creme brulee was runny.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank GiGiLW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

Great steakhouse and a la carte menu. Delicious cocktails & optional beer choices. Delicious martinis! Come for the steak & enjoy the entire menu of side dishes + dessert. Great location in downtown Red Bank. Dim lighting and reasonable noise level to hear people talking that you're with.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Rafael W C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018 via mobile

Not many steakhouses around that aim the be ‘real’ steakhouses. Char is one of a couple. We happened to have an excellent waiter this visit. Other times the servers were just OK. Mainstream club tracks are the soundtrack which I find interesting. Food is good to very, very good, steaks are very, very good but don’t seem to hit that NYC steakhouse level for some reason. Nice wine list, not extensive or too expensive. Decor is Ok, no table cloths. Having said all this if you’re looking for a steakhouse in this area this is your best spot. You won’t be dissatisfied. Maybe the filet is better than the strip? Desserts are excellent, oysters too. Staff is attentive.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank stevegreenwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Char Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Char Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing