We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tex-Mex at Best”

Juanito's Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 138 Restaurants in Red Bank
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tinton Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex at Best”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

I've been to Juanito's dozens of times, mainly out of habit. But no more. The staff is indifferent, the menu overpriced, and the space is cramped. Not to mention they don't serve real Mexican food. Authentic Mexican food isn't drizzled with cheese and served with a side of sour cream. There are many Mexicans who live in the area, but none however eat at Juanito's. They go to North of the Border and La Chapparita. So if you're looking for an ostentatious Taco Bell you may like it. If you're looking for authentic Mexican food go elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    25
    13
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
330 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Live close by and frequent Juanitos often. Sometimes it is a great experience and others not so much. The place draws a crowd on the weekend and there is usually a wait to get in. On these nights you do not want to sit up front by the entrance because the people waiting can get into all of your business because of the overflow of the small waiting area. Also I notice that sometimes they have a fruit fly issue that can be annoying(even in the winter). It is also BYOB.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

The food was okay the service wasn't great.The waitress were not friendly.And it was a small place, but it was a nice place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biceps54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It is really ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I was there wit my family. Really enjoyed. Food was very good. I believe cooked from fresh. Portion big as usual in US. You may share entrees. Price on average. Location: small restaurant, crowded but ok. Remember to bring your own beer! They do not sell alcoholic

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Venanzio69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakhurst
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ole!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We went for lunch with my cousins who were visiting from London. The place was full of people who worked in the area but we had no trouble getting a table. We quickly got warm nachos, glasses with salt & ice for the margaritas we brought, and overall wonderful service. The portions were big, yummy, and leisurely. We truly had a great time & the flan that we got was excellent (and enough for all four of us to share!). We would definitely recommend Juanito's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisam649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Juanito's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Juanito's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing