We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an attitude!”

Uncle Vinnie's Clam Bar
Ranked #2 of 40 Restaurants in Raritan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“What an attitude!”
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Don't know who they think they are. We arrived with five empty tables, and they told us it would be an hour wait because we were a party of two and they were holding all the tables for parties of four! Forget that they were empty tables,we had to wait for a bar table! Stupidly we waited. Most obnoxious staff ever! The food was just mediocre. Go here and regret it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WirePaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owner plays favorites”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

If you are not a 'regular' don't expect to be treated well! Went recently went here to celebrate a special occasion. We had a small table shoved in the corner...not great, but okay. However, just as we were being served our dinner, the owner asked us if we would move to a different table so he could sit a group of his friends. Since we were in the middle of eating we did not want to move. An owner with any kind of tact and respect would have made the other party wait a few minutes until we were done. No! This guy stood buy our table watching us eat. If that wasn't uncomfortable enough, he shoved us further in the corner and crammed this large party literally around us. The guys at the table even felt bad and wanted to buy us a drink for our inconvenience. That should have come from the incompetent owner, not the patrons. Needless to say, we will not be returning here. There are so many other much better seafood restaurants where you are treated with professionalism and respect...and don't play favorites!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kfmski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always The Best!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We've been going here for years and Uncle Vinnie's is by far our favorite restaurant. It is always a special treat to have a meal here. It is our number one destination for our birthday dinners. My wife loves seafood and I am a fish fan and we are always delighted with our meals. Everything is served steaming hot. The food is so fresh and tasty, never fishy, and the perfect texture. The mozzarella and tomato salad is fantastic and the table bread is fresh. The entree portions are plentiful. They have a full bar with a modest but sufficient variety of beer and wine. The kitchen is open to view which enhances the dining experience with its sights, sounds and pleasing smell of the grill (again, never fishy). It is a small place so there can be a long wait on Saturday night so I suggest visiting on another night or getting there early, or just have a couple of drinks while you wait and enjoy the atmosphere. Only a few tables can accommodate more than 2, so it is probably best for couples but a great place for friends if you can get a larger table.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A very small place, where you are treated like family. The atmosphere is happy and pleansant. Great big frongt window seating, and the food is Terrific! Must haves are their Littleneck Clams, Scallops over Salad, Seafood Salad, and there Chicken Parmasean.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jersey for Shore!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice place. Went on a Tuesday struggled to get seats for our party of 12. The restaurant exceeded our expectations for quality and service.
The staff took great care of our group and the portions were phenominal! Hats off to staff and owner who took the time to enquire if we were happy. Would highly recommend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Vinnie's Clam Bar also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Vinnie's Clam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing