We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Work dinner at Char”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Char Steak House

Char Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Char Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 40 Restaurants in Raritan
Price range: $40 - $60
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: First Avenue
Transit: Raritan stop on the New Jersey Transit Raritan Valley Line.
Strasbourg, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Work dinner at Char”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Very good food, large portions. Especially liked the sea food. Friendly personnel and good atmosphere

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    57
    50
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
96 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Upscale”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We dined here twice in the past 3 months. Both times we were very impressed with the quality of the food and the service. It's expensive but worth it. The first time we were there it was not overly busy, the second time it was really packed. We found the food to be of the same quality and felt that our server was still very attentive, relaxed and helpful. The entire staff greets you with a smile, opens doors for you, answers questions respectfully and makes you feel welcomed. The interior is modern but warm and the outside porch is fun yet classy. It would be great if route 202 wasn't there or an attractive fence could be installed to help drown out the road noise but it wasn't bad. We had a gluten free guest with us and the server was very prepared and guided her easily. There were plenty of options. I highly recommend the ribs appetizer, really terrific.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tmag10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Terrific food and excellent setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I got together with several former colleagues for dinner at Char in Raritan as this location was a good spot for a group coming from NY, NJ and PA. Very nice bar in an equally nice indoor restaurant setting as we waited for the full party to show up. Good drinks and beer, not overly expensive. We were seated outside and that was a great place to have dinner; of course, the fact that the weather was perfect helped. Our server was excellent - attentive without being overbearing - and knowledgeable. We started with the seafood tower and that was excellent. They make it up for the number of people in the group so no one gets short changed on choice, which included lobster, crab meat, shrimp etc. All excellent and very fresh. Entrees were of course steak, but I shared the 30 oz 35 day aged bone-in ribeye with someone and it was terrific. The wine list is not extensive but well thought out. We had an excellent Napa Cab that was a very good price. Overall it was a great setting for this get together and the food and service were equally as good.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“extremely poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have gone to Char's several times on business trips. The food is good; however, the service leaves something to be desired. When I asked about timing for getting at table (after spending $60 at the bar) I was told that they had very important customers from an "important local business" and I would have to wait - even though the restaurant was more than half empty and it was after 7pm.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marsonnay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
263 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent but Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere. Nice outdoor area. A bit of a wait for a table and tough parking. Service was a bit slow but not too bad. Food was great. It's a steak place so I had a steak. Not many options and only one small size so I had that. Steak was great...prepared perfectly and very tender. Sides are family style which we didn't realize and weren't told. So we had too many and they weren't inexpensive. Nice place. Good food.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Japruzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Char Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Char Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing