We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RANDOLPH DINER RIP OFF OVER PRICED TRASHY CUSTOMERS”
Review of Randolph Diner

Randolph Diner
Order Online
OR
Order Online
Ranked #12 of 62 Restaurants in Randolph
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Would have to agree with the negative reviewers. The main key points that give this place a negative review is (1) the food is overpriced (2) for what you pay your food is just thrown on a plate without any decoration (3) most of the wait staff have no real clue on how to wait on a table plus cant speak english (4) a large majority of the customers that go into this place are loud trashy type as if the Randolph diner is the only place that accepts these types of people (5) some of the employees there especially the new ones obviously didn't pass any mental health tests.

As you look around the place, and this is supposed to be a new place, you'll see things scratched up and falling apart. You order an item say a hamburger, its just thrown on a plate with nothing else. Sometimes you get a plastic plate and some times you get a normal place, you'll see this plate with just a small hamburger on it and that's it. Anything above lettuce, tomato on a stale bun is an extra charge no fries nothing and your in the whole $10, without tax or drink. We wouldnt even dare eat anything other than pancakes and hamburgers because the kitchen cant cook the basics of basics. $19 for diner with nothing with it. Obviously the money gets pocketed by the owner and nothing into the place itself.

You cannot site down and have a relaxing time to yourself, its either you hear people cursing every other word behind you, or some person blasting their cell phone, not to mention the loud mouths in the bar area. Every time we go into the place, there's always an issue that goes unresolved. We've been reviewing places and this one every single time gets a negative review over the same things over and over again. Today got charged $5.00 for a small baked potato. There are waiters that will speak to you only when they are waiting on your table expecting to get a tip from you that's 5x what everyone else leaves them. The next day you walk right by them, they say nothing to you. Randolph Diner, Jefferson Diner, Hibernia Diner and Red Hut Diner, its all the same type of problems, the same type of trash. And the employees get fired they just rotate from the places above.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cali L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 135 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2019 via mobile

You have to have the French toast Napoleon! Renovations look great. Attentive staff, competitive prices.

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank 59beachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019

This was my first visit here; I came with my cousin who comes regularly for the spanakopita which she says is great (I didn't taste it). I had pasta with shrimp and gorgonzola cheese and some other items which I think were actually missing from the dish. The shrimp and the pasta was great, however, I guess I thought the gorgonzola would be crumbled on top, but instead, it was actually made into a creamy sauce. It was a bit too much for me but I will know for next time.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank globetraveler4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019

We went the first time for a celebration of life service for the wife of a good friend of ours. We were upstairs & the place was overflowing with people. The meal itself was buffet style & terrific...the service was superb & the staff had no problem keeping up with drinks, etc...everything was wonderfully done. We enjoyed it so much, other than the reason for Friday's occasion, that we took four friends back for dinner the next day. We don't live in the area, but will make it a point to return whenever we can. Don't pass this place up!!!

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barbara5852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2019

We have been regulars here for decades. Yes, we noticed a change in the quality of the food and service during the major renovations -- not surprising after they added a lot of new staff and menu items. It did take a while for them to work out the kinks and hit their stride again. But they are definitely back to form, and still a worthwhile choice. The lunch and dinner specials are especially good, and a great value as well -- the portion sizes are generous and we always leave here with enough leftovers to take home for a second meal. We particularly enjoy their fish and seafood dishes. The dessert selection is amazing. The owners and staff are friendly and welcoming.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jpoiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Randolph Diner also viewed

Randolph, Morris County
Randolph, Morris County
 
Randolph, Morris County
Randolph, Morris County
 
Randolph, Morris County
Randolph, Morris County
 

Been to Randolph Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing