We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As You'd Expect from a HI Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“As You'd Expect from a HI Express”
Reviewed March 26, 2010

The hotel was average & on par with other Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were standard. Having a micro-fridge was a nice bonus. Breakfast included also adds to the value. The staff was friendly & had cookies & other snacks upon check-in. The breakfast was the usual hot breakfast that HI Express offers - and same poor quality. But hey, its free & will tide you over til lunch! Beds & pillows were comfortable. Sink & vanity are located outside of the bathroom - which is good and bad depending on the situation. A/C-heat system was not very responsive and overall noise was minimal. It is set back from Route 17 (unlike the HI in Paramus) which helps to eliminate noise from traffic. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luna_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    77
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
56
42
21
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2010

We just love Holiday Inn Express hotels because of the free breakfast and free wifi. This hotel had a central location to our shopping trip and a big parking lot for our rental car. Next door was a Chili's and a bunch of other restaurants. The rooms were really nice.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
146 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2009

Nice staff, rooms OK but nothing special. Had to get a new key everyday after going up to the third floor to my room to find my key did not work. hallways were very dingy and bordered on being seedy. They overcharged me one night and after I questioned it I knew I was getting nowhere so just said the heck with it. Plenty of nicer hotels for the same money in that town. Best thing about it was it's proximity to la Gondola Pizzaria in Ramsey.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiancarloBuonarroti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philladelphia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2009

The hotel is just fine. Clean, fresh and well kept. What is the most important - front desk manager attitude. We arrived at 9AM after very long flight without previous reservation just going up from Newark to upstate NY. We got extra day free so decided to stop somewhere in NJ to take a one day break. We were offered so early check in at no extra charge. And the gentleman said: “have a breakfast before you go to sleep…” It was just unbelievable considering that hotel was almost fully booked. This was true meaning of hospitality. We definitely stay there again we are in the area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMAXCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MONTREAL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

On August 1, 2009 I was making my way to Bethay Beach Delaware with my family and with our friends ( a couple with four kids ) and we decided to stay over night in Ramsey N.J . We stopped for a coffee and decided to pick the Holiday Inn Express to spend the night. When we showed up at the hotel around 11:00 we received a very warm welcome from the Gentlemen at the Reception Desk. He kindly asked us if we were members of the Priority Club, since I am I had no issue what so ever getting the preferred rate. Since my frind was not that gentlemen offered to my frind to register him while booking his reservation so he ended uo also getting the preferred rate. The rooms were clean and we had the opportunity to enjoy their excellent continental breakfast the next morning. I am planning on staying at this hotel next time I will be in this area.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHLANDmontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, NH
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2009

After many years of staying with family while in Northern NJ and zooming past all the hotels along Rte. 17, it was our first time needing to stay at a local hotel. While our expectations were perhaps set a bit lower based on some other reviews, we were very happy with our stay and with the very helpful and friendly front desk staff. Yes, do yourself a favor and request a room on the back of the hotel vs. on Rte. 17. With a room on the backside of the hotel and the black out drapes, you'll sleep soundly and think you were located in a much quieter place. The more recent renovation was plain to see with attractive room finishings and color scheme. My local relatives will gladly recommend it to others with visitors looking for a place to stay. The continental breakfast was just fine and was nicely set up and well maintained. Having a small fitness room/area would make it even better. And, free internet access was great (unlike some other hotels up the road.)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letmedrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2009

I booked this via the internet for a business trip. I requested a room at the back which was lovely and quiet - the one's at the front may be more noisy as it is by Route 17. The staff were great and the location was perfect for me. The room was cleaned daily to an excellent standard and the staff couldn't do enough for me throughout my stay. It was good value for miney in comparison to other hotels in the area but quite pricey generally (possibly due to its proximity to New York). Complimentary high speed internet, tea and coffee making facilities in the room plus breafast was included. There is no room service/restaurant but it is within walking distance of a number of restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GcrossLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Inn At Ramsey
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ramsey - Upper Saddle River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Mahwah
126 reviews
3.0 mi away
Courtyard Mahwah
Courtyard Mahwah
#3 of 8 in Mahwah
210 reviews
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah
Address: 946 State Rt 17, Ramsey, NJ 07446-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ramsey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah Hotel Ramsey
Holiday Inn Ramsey
Ramsey Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing