We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Consistent”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I have been staying at this location for over a year now long-term for business and receive the same warm welcome each time. The incredibly friendly staff are always smiling and they take care of my requests promptly. They always hand me bottles of water when I ask. The complimentary hot breakfast is a great amenity to get my day started. I love that coffee is available at all times. The rooms are clean and most of the time I get an upgraded room which is very spacious. The beds are very comfortable and I sleep well. There are plenty of restaurants that are within walking distance which is really great. It's a pretty neat place which makes me feel cozy just like home.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    79
    30
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
42
21
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mass.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights over the weekend. The hotel is small and on a major highway with alot of options for evening dining close by. Our room did face the highway but we only faintly hear some trucks go by, could not hear any major traffic. If you live in a city this will be quieter. The room and bathroom was small but very clean. The sink is not in the bathroom but out in the main room. This took a little getting used too but no complaints. The pillows on the bed were very small and not comfortable at all. This would be the only downfall to our stay. But we anticipated this from reading previous reviews and brought our own pillows. The bed was comfortable to sleep on. We have slept on better hotel beds but not many. Breakfast was the standard expanded continental hotel breakfast with eggs, sausage, bacon, several cerals, toast, muffins, tea and coffee. No waffle maker but they did have a pancake maker. There is no exercise room but you can use Retro Fitness down the street. Its as easy as showing up and showing your room key. Thats it, then you will have access to a full gym. If you want to do cardio go into the Theater Room. Treadmills and exercise bikes in front of a huge tv screen. They were showing a Steve Martin movie and time flew right by.

The staff here was extremely friendly and helpful. The front desk staff went out of their way to make sure everything was going well during our stay. The woman working in the breakfast area kept everything clean, hot and well stocked. We did not have any interaction will housekeeping.

If we come back to this area, my wife and I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jstatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
neustadt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm here for business. What I want after work is just relax (great beds), having a beer (plenty of restaurants), doing some sports (FREE use of the Retro Fitness in walking distance), seeing good mooded and motivated staff.. Is almost like coming home! Whatever you need (extra towels, new keycard (I lost mine), coffee and tee all night, bottle of water), it is always fine and easy. Try the fresh baked cookies in the evening! Did you ever got a note which says "Thank you" for the tip you left? Try the warm Cinnamon rolls they serve for breakfast! Or the fresh made pancakes! Have a good coffee and enjoy the free daily newspaper you find on the floor if you step out of your room in the morning. It is that kind of many little things that make my stay very pleasant. Needless to say that the location is right between the (insane) shopping world in Paramus and Woodbury Common outlet center.
This place is higly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mimosin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Awful experience - we checked in to our room and took the elevator to the 3rd floor to find a room was LITERALLY across from the elevator. Worst idea to even have a room there, let alone be assigned to that room. We walked in and the room was so small - the sink wasn't even in the bathroom.. weird. I look on the bed to see a wide open space where pillows should be laying. Don't get me wrong there were 4 pillows on the bed, the only issue is they were throw pillow size. I immediately called down to the front desk to ask them if they had normal size pillows. The attendant told me those were the only pillows they had -- how is that even possible??? The bed was BEYOND rock hard, it was like laying on a brick. We went out for the night and returned to the hotel around 10pm. All night long we heard so much noise and people talking up and down the hall. We were also woken up by housekeeping around 6:30-7am. We finally headed down for the "hot complimentary breakfast" to find cold eggs, cold sausage and broken toasters so you couldn't even toast a pre-thawed out bagel. We couldnt get out of this hotel fast enough.. Oh and upon check out the front desk attendant asked me how it was and I responded sarcastically, "It was just OK". And he said okay I am glad you enjoyed your stay - what!!! We didnt enjoy our stay.. clearly he didnt pick up on the sarcasm. So bottom line is - if you like a noisy hotel with no pillows, rock hard beds, and a disgusting breakfast then this is your place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arielle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apurva14, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
The Holiday Inn Express team appreciates the feedback and sincerely apologizes for any inconvenience during your stay. The pillow issues have been identified and we are in the process of replacing them. Some of the other issues that you encountered have been fixed. We are sincerely sorry to have assigned to you a room across the elevator. Please give us another opportunity to make things right and we will ensure that you do not experience these issues again.
Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a great stay at the Holiday Inn Express over the weekend! I was traveling to the city with a group and the front desk staff was super accommodating! We had asked for an early check-in because we needed to change clothes and drop off our luggage. They did happen to have the rooms available and made sure we could get in. Craig at the front desk was very welcoming. The other staff we encountered was very courteous. Breakfast in the morning was standard Holiday Inn Express fare. Everything was fresh and hot. At check out, the woman at the desk was friendly and thanked us for staying. My family and I will be staying at this hotel again any time we are in need of a place in that area. Very convenient to NYC and great for people traveling on a budget. My one and only complaint is the size (too small) and comfort of the pillows. Other than that, keep up the great work!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandyS79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I am a Platnium rewards meember and primarily stay at the Holiday Inn Express lcoation. The rooms are clean and neat and the staff was very friendly when I checked in. MAKE SURE YOU ASK FOR A ROOM ON THE BACKSIDE OF THE BUILDING! The front of the buidling face a 6 lane highway and there is plenty of road noise. Other than a little road noise this is a nice location and would highly recommend of the business traveler

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the building. Rooms on the front face a 6 lane highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I was in town for my father's funeral; the airline lost my luggage, which I needed in order to dress for the funeral the next morning. The front desk was very helpful and patient with my many inquiries, and when the luggage finally arrived (an hour and a half before the funeral; thanks, Delta), they brought it right up to my room. No complaints about the room; it was clean and quiet, and the bed was comfortable. The alarm clock kept flashing the time, which was a little annoying.

Although I loved the automatic pancake dispenser in the breakfast room, the pancakes it dispensed weren't so great. The scrambled eggs were inedible, and the coffee was just ok. The rest of the breakfast options were fairly standard and fail-safe (yogurt, bagels & bread for toasting, pastries, fruit, etc.) I went next door to Dunkin Donuts on my second morning there and had a much better breakfast.

The one complaint I did have was that I was watching TV on the bed at around 5:00 on Saturday, unwinding after the funeral, when someone opened the door. Thankfully I had the bolt thrown across so they couldn't open it all the way, and I said, "excuse me??" and they closed the door. I didn't bother to complain to the front desk; I assumed it was cleaning staff (I had seen carts around at 4:30 or so), and that someone had made a mistake. I didn't want to get anyone in trouble, but it was a little bit disturbing.

Any minor complaints aside, it was a fairly pleasant stay, and quite inexpensive (I booked through Expedia). I would stay there again if I was in the area (which I probably won't be, but you never know). Route 17 was a little busy for my taste, but not too bad and the hotel is convenient to area restaurants and such.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_Scrappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Happy_Scrappy,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I appreciate and wish to thank you for the kind words for our front desk staff. On the other hand, please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered during breakfast and with cleaning staff. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope that you take the time to stop in for a visit soon to see how we have taken every comment very seriously in order to make your future stays with us as pleasant as possible.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
0.7 mi away
Best Western The Inn At Ramsey
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
1.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Ramsey - Upper Saddle River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 8 in Mahwah
128 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah
Address: 946 State Rt 17, Ramsey, NJ 07446-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ramsey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah Hotel Ramsey
Holiday Inn Ramsey
Ramsey Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing