We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This property is pretty nice. Good location on SR17 in Mahwah, NJ. Rooms are pretty spartan but clean. Hector is great! He helped us with reservations, changes we made and checking on us while we stayed here. If you face the highway, you'll hear road noise unless you put your A/C fan on high, ask for a room facing the rear of the property. We visited family so this motel/hotel was perfect for us. Good price for this area. Breakfast was better than average with scrambled eggs, omelettes, pancakes, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt, juice and coffee/tea. We'll come back because of the value and service.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces opposite Route 17.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Warren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

127 - 133 of 217 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

First off: the breakfast was top notch!!! Clean and spacious rooms and wonderful staff! It's right by Pizza Hut, so that's helpful too!! I will be back to this hotel!! :)

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank Summerbrieze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

As a birthday gift to myself, I booked into this hotel so I could escape the pressures of life for a day or two and take time to pamper with peace and quiet. I got so much more than what I expected when I walked through those doors. Greeted by an amazing staff member, Hector, who checked me in and made sure every need was met after a long drive from Delaware. I called from the road and he assured me my reservation. He's an invaluable asset to the establishment as well as "HINA" who treated me like a family member. You don't find employees like them very often in this labor market. I could give them all the credit in the world, but I wish the Owner's would find it in their hearts to reward them with a little extra cash or at review time (a recognizable raise)?......lol

I believe in taking the time out to write with compliments, as much as I believe in letting people know when a complaint in warranted.

I never would have considered a Holiday Inn Express to be at the standards of a "Hilton Chain" but my son was on a mission with the Red Cross and told me of HIS experience. He was so impressed he called the Corporate office along with writing a review.

Everyone from Housekeeping to the Handyman (behind the scenes) provided professionalism, protection and prompt service. Who needs the Hilton when you have a Holiday Inn in Ramsey that treats you like the "Trump".

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed at this hotel only one night but was great right from the time we walked into the lobby. Behind the front desk was a guy named Hector who such a nice person right from the start. Very helpful with any questions we had and just a genuinely nice person. The room was very clean and for the price it was way over what would be expected. We stayed in the king size room and the bed was so comfortable. Best nights sleep we had in a long time :). Coffee, tea, juice etc were available 24 hrs right off the lobby. In the lobby in the evening they had fresh yummy cookies you could take any time you wanted. We did not take advantage of the free breakfast but I am sure that probably was awesome too considering how great everything else was. Out of all the Holiday Inns we have stayed in, this was our FAVORITE and we will for SURE be staying here again.

Room Tip: Get the king size room, the bed was so awesome and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The receptionist's Hina, Hector and Craig were awesome, helped me find local attractions to go see and were very friendly. They even helped me get my X-Box live account up and running. The rooms were clean and well maintained. Second time staying here and I plan on coming back here when in town. Excellent service; keep up the great work all! Also the breakfast was the best with good variety!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

this Hotel was a great location for an event we wanted to attend nearby. It is nice and clean the breakfast was great and there are bars and restaurants nearby, try the Macaroni grill nearby great value and good atmosphere. The staff were all very helpfull and friendly, a special thanks to Hina for aranging a great driver Louis to collect from JFK and drive us around on our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vveltom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

While this could be considered a budget hotel, the accommodations were first class. The staff was very accommodating and completely met all of our needs. The staff gives the impression that no question or concern is any issue at all and that they can handle anything. The breakfast was very good. The hotel was very clean and comfortable overall.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bk3104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
0.8 mi away
Best Western The Inn At Ramsey
2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
2.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 8 in Mahwah
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah

Address: 946 State Rt 17, Ramsey, NJ 07446-1607
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ramsey
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Price Range: $110 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah Hotel Ramsey
Holiday Inn Ramsey
Ramsey Holiday Inn Express

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing