We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would not stay here.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ramsey

Howard Johnson Inn - Ramsey
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ramsey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Howard Johnson Inn - Ramsey
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Upstate NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would not stay here.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

In town for business and tried to save $$. Not worth it. Kid at the counter was rude and felt bothered when I called for an early arrival. When I did arrive, he was dressed in a t-shirt, ripped jeans and sandals. Not very professional. The hotel looked like nothing has changed (or been cleaned) since the sixties. I cancelled my reservation and went up the road to the Holiday Inn Express. For $25 more it was worth it.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlackandWhiteStripes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
1
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New york city, NY
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2008

My stay at this hotel was much more than expected. Service was great and staff was friendly. Rooms were big and it looked like they upgraded their rooms since I stayed there last. I liked how there was a lot of open space at this hotel and I didn't feel like staying in a box. I would definitely stay here every time rather than other overpriced hotels.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank nycalltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2005

Dirty and run down. Not well maintained at all. Towels had holes in them and were dirty. Sinks and counter tops were not clean. The continental breakfast was a joke. Carpets were poorly vacuumed.


  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank davidh4976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ramsey hotels

Orange Mass
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2005

this Place needs LOTS of work the rooms are NASTY the sheets had holes in them the towles were Really Rough and the Bath tub/shower had almost no enamel left on the bottom of the tub i was in the back of the Hotel and it Still was Very Loud the ac didnt work to well and the Owners sopke Very Poor Englisg as i did Complain about the room


  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tiggerstripe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramsey
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Mahwah
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ramsey-Mahwah
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN the Inn at Ramsey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Mahwah
2.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Mahwah
2.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Mahwah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn - Ramsey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn - Ramsey

Property: Howard Johnson Inn - Ramsey
Address: 1255 Rt 17 S, Ramsey, NJ 07446
Location: United States > New Jersey > Ramsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Ramsey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Inn - Ramsey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Ramsey
Ramsey Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing